We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Red Roof I ever stayed at!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   441 Ackerman Road, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Red Roof I ever stayed at!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I have been to several Red Roof's over the years and this was probably the best. Very close to OSU for football or other attractions. The Hotel was very clean from the lobby to our room. The staff was very courteous and helpful, giving directions to area restaurants and other locations that we wanted to visit. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    31
    30
    4
    7
See reviews for
32
10
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wv
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We've stayed here several times while a family member had surgery and follow-up treatment at OSU Medical Center. Ask for a discount for medical treatment because they don't advertise it. The price and locations are good, rooms clean and serve their purpose. I felt safe staying there unlike I did in other areas of Columbus (as in I-71 @ SR 161). There are restaurants, grocery stores close by and and isn't far to shopping.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

This is a very nice location for people with pets, as there is alot of grass so you can walk your dog.

There are eateries...grocery store.....convenience store within a short walking distance.

I did see one problem, the cleaning staff appears to be very slow. Had to ask for my room to be cleaned and then still had to wait, which almost made us late for dinner reservations.

One clerk advised us of a certain policy the hotel has regarding pets, but when asked to produce the documentain she was unable to do so.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

The room was tiny and consisted of the average hotel amenities (suave products, itchy blankets, etc). It was OK for a place to sleep for one night, but I wouldn't stay any longer.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

This is my first economy hotel choice for Columbus. Ideal location (next to many restaurants, supermarket, gas station...all of which are within walking distance). I have stayed at this motel 10-12 times already.

Downside: The hotel can be noisy, as it is very popular. There is also no continental breakfast (coffee only).

Upside: The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and the price is affordable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

i had 2 issues with my stay, first they put me in a room on the ground floor which i didn't deem safe. secondly the room reeked. the windows couldn't be opened and if i were staying on the second floor i'd have left the door open to ventilate, but alas. i wasn't keeping my door open seeing that my room faced the parking lot. there was no free internet either.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezuela
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I just came back from a trip to Columbus, Oh, and I stayed in this hotel...The price was really cheap, the location is excellent (just in front of it there is a supermarket, a gas station and some fast food chains), and the room was really really nice...I went there to visit a friend and to do some shopping, and I have no complains at all in terms of security, parking place, and again, location...jeffersonville outlet was like 45min away, but easton mall, turtle mall and the airport were just like 10-15min from the hotel...If you are planning to go to Columbus, this is the place where to stay in!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Address: 441 Ackerman Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
#30 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Ohio State University Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.