We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   441 Ackerman Road, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Salem, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My sister, her boyfriend and I needed a cheap-ish place to stay when returning from a concert at the LC. I found the staff incredibly nice and the rooms were clean and cool - after a few hours in the sun, it felt good to come back to the AC. I would stay here again in a minute!

Room Tip: The King Bed rooms are large and the beds are comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know how your stay was at the Red Roof OSU Campus. I'm so glad that we were able meet your needs, well staying here. Hopefully we will see you the next time your in the area.

Thanks
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    35
    30
    5
    8
See reviews for
35
10
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

So. The red roof in is whatever when it comes to to rooms and amenities. Kind of a you get what you pay for scenario. What really made this place special was how cool and helpful the front desk employees were. Usually you get some person that you won't even remember two minutes later that coldly runs through the soulless front procedure and that's that. Caitlin & Jacob make the other front desk hotel workers in the world look like dead corpses like weekend at Bernie's. they had so much personality, they were extremely helpful, and we decided to extend our stay even though we found cheaper deals elsewhere. That red roof inn is magically & its the only hotel ill go to now in Columbus, Ohio. And this is coming from someone that doesn't usually care about this kind of stuff. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to let me know how your stay at the Red Roof Inn OSU campus. I’m so please that Caitlin and Jacob did such a great job. They are an asset to my team; I let them know that you were so please. Thank you again for taking the time to leave such a positive comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The only drawback to this hotel is that the rooms are dated and depressing. But who cares, because the grounds are beautifully kept, and the location--walking distance to a grocery store and places to eat--is amazing. I brought my bike and my dog, because we a couple blocks south of the beautiful, shady Olentangy River trail. This trail starts off behind the cemetary, and it starts off with some Wetlands "of national importance"--definitely worth a walk-through to see the egrets and other wildlife. Go to the right on the trail, and you're on your way to OSU. In the other direction, the trail crosses the river, and my dog and I enjoyed a swim. What a great location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at the Red Roof Inn OSU was. I'm sorry to hear about the rooms not being up to date. We are currently working on getting a remodel so hopefully that will occur in the near future. I'm glad the rest of your stay was positive and thank you for the positive comments about the landscaping. I hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Thanks
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Fridge and microwave as typical Red Roof Inn. Nice working space. Large safe deposit box, which is big enough to keep laptop computer.
After the renovation the room will be with wooden floor. The manager was very enthusiastic to make this hotel great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at the Red Roof Inn OSU. We are hoping in the up coming months to have a renovation to make us a better property. I was glad that we were able to accomadate you well you were in the area.

Thank You,
Stepahnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had a great stay at the Red Roof Inn. My party stayed for the weekend and everyone of the staff was great. The maintenance man "Mike" is the reason the stay was great. Hes was very helpful all weekend by giving me advice on where to eat, shop, and just general friendliness. Every time I saw him he took the time to stop and ask If I needed anything. There is normally much that set the budget hotels apart form each other but In this case he is the reason why me and my party will be staying at this hotel next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out to let me know how your stay was at the Red Roof Inn OSU Campus. I’m very pleased to read that Mike was such a help to you well you were on property. He is a assist to my team and it’s nice to see that other people notice that. Thank you again and I hope to see you the next time you’re in the area.
Thanks
Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McConnelsville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had no problems with the motel or the service. I needed a place near Riverside Methodist Hospital where my son was having an outpatient procedure that required a multi-day stay. The first floor room with a microwave and refrigerator was clean and comfortable. This being said NEVER NEVER book your hotel rooms through ROADSIDE AMERICA. I should have used Trip Advisor. I needed the room for 3 days and the first reservation I made only had the first 2 on it. I immediately canceled that reservation and rebooked for the 3 nights. My stay was fine but when I checked my credit card they had charged me for the first reservation plus a service fee of over 20 dollars. They did refund one nights stay but kept the rest plus charged me another service fee of over 20 dollars. They made about $120 in 5-7 minutes tops. I have tried to talk to them and the first lady was in India and the 2nd said she was in Mexico...ROADSIDE who? I am disputing these charges through my credit card company

Room Tip: Plenty of restaurants to choose from in the strip mall next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to let us know how your stay was. I’m glad to hear that we were about to meet your needs. I’m sorry to hear that Roadside America caused you such problems. I would call them and ask for the manager to see if they can help you resolve the issues with your credit card. If you call 1800RedRoof next time you need to stay or the Inn directly we will be able to avoid any over charges. Thanks again for letting us help you out with your hotel needs. Hopefully we will see you next time you’re in the area.
Thanks,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had a great stay at the Red Roof Inn. I stayed for 3 nights and was attending the Rock on the Range music festival at Crew Stadium. The hotel was very handy to the venue, being only about 4 miles away. I was immediately impressed upon check-in by the high standard of service provided by the two ladies at the front desk. They were extremely friendly and helpful in providing information. I had a room which was a good size and had two queen beds. It was immaculately cleaned. The hotel is straight across the road from a number of restaurants and other shops. I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoof121, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know how your stay at the Red Roof Inn OSU was. I'm glad to hear we able to provide you with great customer service. My Staff love to hear when we are doing a great job. Hopefully we will see you next year :)
Thanks
Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Address: 441 Ackerman Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#26 Family Hotel in Columbus
#41 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Ohio State University Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.