We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff at a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Columbus West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Columbus West to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Renner Road, Columbus, OH 43228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Sauquoit, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent staff at a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

They always offer us a friendly greeting on arrival. Staff acknowledges when seeing us on the property by saying hello, a wave or a smile. On the last visit the manager, Stephanie even set up my computer for the free wi fi. Any request we make is handled quickly and efficiently.
They treat us as family whenever we stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
15
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Three criteria: dog friendly, comfortable bed, easy off and on the highway.

Criteria met and exceeded. Did I mention that is was phenomenally inexpensive and the staff could not have been any nicer or more helpful?

Okay, this is not some place trying to be other than a safe, clean, decent place to get a good night's sleep. It has the basics and these are done well. And, the staff - so very unexpected to find smiles, conersation, and information.

This one goes on my list as a keeper.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We selected this property for three reasons:
1. very pet friendly
2. good Trip Advisor reviews
3. proximity to I-70

We hadn't stayed at Red Roof Inn before before, but we liked the price ($65 with tax!) and how friendly they were to our large, well-behaved dog.

Since we are used to higher-end properties, we did not particularly like the linens or towels, but it was sufficient for a roadtrip.

The bathroom also had some water damage around the tub but was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Nice, clean room. Bathroom was sooo clean and service was nice too.
I will definately prefer to come here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Staff was very helpful, and friendly. Room was clean and a descent size. Close to a grocery store and quite a few different restaurants, including a 24 hr one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for my son's summer camp. It turned out to be a very satisfactory experience.

The hotel's location is super outstanding, right off an exit of I70 and next to major shop and food chains. It's across the street from Meijer, Wal-Mart, and Marshall. Target, Big-Lots, and Dicks are all just nearby. My son and I ate at Cici's for two nights as it was such a great bargain place to eat all you can for $5! The pizzas were good and the service was friendly. We also ate at Fazoli's as it had inexpensive pasta dishes. We never ate at McDonald, Wendy's, or Kentucky even they were nearby.

The hotel was very clean and safe. The locks on the door were great as I could lock from inside so even a hotel person couldn't open the door from outside. I was in the hotel room most of the time during the day when my son was in camp, there were no incidents at all. The room, the beds, the towels, the bathroom were all so clean. We were assigned to a room on the ground floor in the back around the corner of the main office and the room that has vendor and ice machines. I could just go around the corner to get free coffee, tea, newspaper from the office and ice from the ice machine anytime. The ground floor room also allowed me to park right in front of the room for easy unloading. This type of hotel has the noise problem of hearing people starting car engine early in the morning and remote control beep sound at night when people lock their car doors.

The internet connection was good but not high speed enough to view videos. I would suggest bringing a cooler to store ice and cold drinks. If you don't have a computer and need to use the internet and/or need to print something off the internet, there is a public library nearby that you can use. This is a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

we stayed her because it was a cheap place near downtown but not in downtown close to an event. this hotel was wonderful. very clean. very nice staff. the beds were so comfortable and they had wifi. it isnt by any means an upscale hotel, but i was pleasantly surprised at how nice this red roof inn was. it is located near all of the shopping you can imagine and a ton of restaurants. will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus West

Address: 5001 Renner Road, Columbus, OH 43228
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus West 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus West Ohio
Columbus Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Columbus West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.