We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Underrated!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 East Town St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Underrated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

Stayed here with a friend for a concert downtown and was pleasantly surprised. I had read reviews and the hotel didn't seem "that" appealing but we decided to go with it anyways. Entrance is very nice. Rooms were nice and clean and spacious for two double beds. Free wireless was a plus! Hotel has a pool and small gym and though we didn't use either, we did check them out and they both appeared to be nice. Very quiet at night. Only downfall was $10 a day for parking and the restaurant closes at 9:30. Close to several other restaurants downtown though. All of the staff we came across was friendly, though they didn't offer to help with our bags upon arrival or leaving. Small thing you kind of expect but no big deal. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    52
    30
    25
See reviews for
35
27
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

MINUSES
1. No vanity space whatsoever. Bathrooms are very small.
2. Water fluctuated from scalding hot to barely warm. Not sure if staying on the 12th floor and anything to do with that.
3. Internet was spotty.
4. $10/day to park was discouraging. Especially considering there were only a few cars in the parking lot. It's not as though they didn't have the space.

PLUSES
1. Friendly staff
2. Nice bar area. Good for a drink or 6 after work.
3. Nice, modern reception area
4. Pool was clean and well maintained.
5. Good location

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed here for my state boards that were at Columbus State. Only had to stay one night and this place was perfect. No bells and whistles. They were doing major renovating at the time so it may be even better. Free wi-fi which was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Holiday Inn was the preferred hotel for an event we were attending in Columbus, and overall we found it was worth the money. Rooms were very clean and well-appointed for the price, and the staff was very accommodating.

That said, there were two issues the management should deal with. First, the elevators are outrageously slow. Given that it's a 12-story hotel, with more than 200 rooms, you'd expect them to operate with a little more regularity, but I found we'd be waiting upwards of 5 minutes for an elevator to come. I understand that happening during busy times, but all the time?

Second, the "free high-speed internet" rarely allowed us on. We heard from other people there the same thing happened to them, and the staff even acknowledged their WIFI server couldn't handle the sheer number of people trying to get on. When we did get on, it was dial-up slow. That should be an easy fix.

One thing the management can't resolve is the location, which is iffy at best. The Holiday Inn is close to the courthouse and offices, but the area is completely deserted at night, and we were accosted several times by vagrants looking for spare change and/or cigarettes - even while on hotel property. That probably says more about Columbus than the hotel itself, but it's definitely not someplace you want to stay if you plan to go out at night.

Overall, though, the price was right and the benefits outweigh the downsides here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We prebooked two rooms months in advance at this hotel for a cheerleading competition at the Convention Centre the weekend of April 3-5, 2009. We stayed April 3 & 4. We were not happy with the beds we got, and because the hotel was fully booked with families, we were UNABLE to get a spare cot for our rooms, NOT EVEN ANY spare bedsheets or pillows!

We booked months ahead, arrived hours later than everyone else, but got snookered in spite of our efforts.

When I lifted my soap bottles from the facecloth covered "clamshell" dish on coutnertop in our bathroom, I found HAIR / WHISKER CLIPPINGS! Disgusted, I threw the clamshell, cloth and whisker clippings on the floor underneath our coat rack beside our room door. Can you believe that it the dish and cloth were not even picked up from the floor, nor did we get a new clean one the next day after our room had been cleaned???!!!

Ughhh!

At least the very nice young lady working front desk Saturday morning gave us a voucher for $20.00 off the hotel buffet in apology for our circumstances when I complained. However, when I met with the Manager later Saturday evening, she offered me nothing! (I wish I could underline and bold text in these reviews.)

If we actually had to spend some time IN the hotel instead of at the Convention Centre so much, I would have blown my lid out of frustration. I noticed a wedding reception in our hotel that weekend; I wonder how they liked it.

In all honesty though: at least the digital thermostat fan controls in our room worked perfectly, the bathroom shower was hot and had great water pressure, the bathroom wasn't moldy, the bed wasn't that bad, the tiny swimming pool and main floor washrooms were very clean and the buffet wasn't that bad either (considering it was almost free).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

My room was very nice, very spacious. The front desk personnel were very courteous. The restaurant staff was also very courteous. The only thing that could have been better in the sense of location was that there weren't any restaurants "immediately" (as in 'within view') near. Being by myself and getting darker earlier, I was not real brave about venturing out. However there were restaurants within a few blocks on my walk to the training course I was taking (on the other side of the mall), I saw several. I had some training downtown, so this was a convenient place to stay. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Liked — very nice spacious room
  • Disliked — lack of restaurants in immediate vicinity (within view from hotel)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

This is a very nice hotel located in the heart of downtown Columbus. My husband and I were able to walk to many of the downtown attractions (Capitol, German Village area, etc). While it was in the center of the city, it was still a very quiet facility. We were awakened early in the morning by small children in the room beside us, but that was not the hotel's fault at all. We had easy check-in, and the room was perfect. Very clean, neat, orderly, and spacious as well. Late at night I realized I had left my contact solution and case at home. The front desk staff gave us detailed directions to the nearest 24-hour pharmacy store (a Kroger only a few blocks away) so I could get these items. The front desk staff was always very friendly and courteous, and helpful and knowledgable. The facility also has an indoor pool and a small fitness center. They both appeared to be open 24-hours, and they are brand new (as of Oct 2008), so very clean and well taken care of. This Holiday Inn was a great price and a great facility, and my husband and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Had to pay to park
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Address: 175 East Town St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to Port Columbus International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.