We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 East Town St, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #85 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel in good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is in need of updating but it has everything you need. The hotel was very clean and our room was also clean. The air conditioner was a little noisy but I like a little white noise so it didn't bother me. We stayed there because we had theater tickets for the Ohio theater and the location was great. It was just a very short walk to restaurants and the theater. I also liked the fact that this hotel had a bar (no food after 10:00) for a drink before retiring for the evening. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in their restaurant the next morning......they have a breakfast buffet and menu......everything was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear joyfuldog,

Thank you for writing a candid review about your recent stay with us. It’s great to know that our you liked the cleanliness of our hotel and that our location and amenities were convenient for your travel needs. I appreciate the kind words about our friendly staff.

As one of our valued guests, we thank you for all your feedback as this helps us continue to provide superior quality and service, and we welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Columbus.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    52
    52
    30
    25
See reviews for
35
27
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Heather at the front desk was great. She got us into our room early and we asked for an extra blanket and it was delivered immediately. Room was clean. Breakfast buffet was good. The only negative was the slow tub drain.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Being in the hospitality industry myself I was very pleased with the cleanses of this hotel. I stayed on the 5th floor bathrooms was a little outdated the housekeeper (Sheena) was very helpful with acomadations and servicing the room as well as directions to local restaurants front desk staff (joe) was friendly and very professional everyone I encountered was awsome. I dont know why there is so many negative comments about this hotel.! I would defiantly stay here again.!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Let me start off by saying, there is nothing really wrong with this hotel. I am just used to staying at nicer places. The front desk staff was friendly and semi-knowledgeable in certain aspects. Melvin the maintenance guy was a great help to us locating a cart (no bell staff) so we could lug our luggage to our room. There are only four carts in this 12 floor hotel! The middle-aged blonde bartender is one of their biggest assets. She is definitely the most friendliest and sincere person they have on staff inside the hotel, remembering your name and your favorites after your first visit. The hotel provides shuttle service within the downtown area. Our favorite driver was Otis who never kept me waiting and always made good suggestions on where to eat (do not ask the front desk staff). As for the rooms, I have never stayed at hotels with rooms directly across from the elevator. This option does not work well for a light sleeper. The staff was very responsive to my needs and moved me to a higher level away from the elevator. I my new room, although the carpet was worn in some areas like the room across from the elevator, this room was remodeled. There were raised granite-like counter-tops in the tiny bathroom, shiny tile in the entry way of the room. Although the bathroom was small, it was remodeled nicely. The room contained a frig and a microwave which was pretty convenient. The pool and exercise area was nice but, it was adjacent to the business center. Therefore, the children and swimmers from the pool area had to walk past the executive conference rooms which seemed like an undesirable setup. All-in-all it was a fine stay and a decent value.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the upper level. I believe the lower levels are still being remodeled. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
NellieBoo,

Thank you for your comments regarding our facility. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow us host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived around 3:30 and our room wasn't ready but they were very apologetic and went ahead and let us park and got us a room in about 5 minutes. The lobby was nice, as well as the pool area. The room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds were well maintained and the shuttle was very helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of the majority of restaurants and other attractions. The hotel is a lot cheaper than other hotels downtown and is great for the price. I will stay again when I am back in Columbus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Garrett G,

Thank you for you review of Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow us to host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio!

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Not sure where all of these negative reviews come from at this hotel. It is an old hotel and they've done their best to clean it up. It's very typical of what Holiday Inn is doing to rebrand these properties.

The staff was fantastic (special shout out to Russell the van driver - GREAT GUY!!) Everyone was very pleasant, helpful and had great suggestions about where to go for eating or visiting the downtown area. Hotel parking is $10. Although they say it is secure, I never saw the gate go down, so I question how "secure" it is, but had no problems nor did any other guests.

I didn't see anyone eating in the restaurant, so can't comment on that. Internet worked great, bathroom was clean and bed was comfortable. No street noise. Only complaint, no outlets. The hotel should put in a power strip or something on the desk. You can only plug in one item at a time and these days, with all of my electrical gear, you need to have at least 3 or 4.

A good choice for being in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Backstreet1250,

Thank you for your comments regarding Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please allow us to host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

From some of the other reviews of this hotel, we were not expecting much. Indeed, the location in the midst of an asphalt wasteland is not very attractive. BUT - we were met by a staff which gave us a welcome surprise. The people who work here are invariably friendly, helpful,and eager to make us comfortable. No, the restaurant is not going to win 3 Stars in the Guide Michelin, but it met our needs. The wait staff were cheerful and attentive. The front desk folks happily took care of our requests. The rooms are small but neat and clean, and the floor maids asked politely if we needed anything. The internet connection worked well right from the start, which is more than I can say about the much more expensive hotel in the last town on this trip.

For a hotel guest, friendly and professional staff make the all the difference, and reflect a good management. These guys will take care of you. They actually seemed glad to have us as guests!

The Downtown Holiday Inn is easy-off-easy-on from I-70 and I-71, so we recommend it to travelers passing this way. Plenty of on-site parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
George E,

Thank you for your comments regarding Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be able to host your next visit to Columbus, Ohio.

Sincerely,

Broderick Cook
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Address: 175 East Town St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to Port Columbus International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.