We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came with large group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Doubletree Avenue, Columbus, OH 43229 (Formerly Marriott North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #76 of 140 hotels in Columbus
Randolph, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Came with large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our VFW and Ladies Auxiliary Conference was booked at this hotel. There were a few hundred attending. We had 12 Hospitality rooms set up on the first floor in the conference room area. Most of the 12 districts had the larger rooms and some were set up in the small guest bedrooms. The smaller rooms were cramped and nowhere to sit.
The Veterans held their meetings in the large room attached to the building. The Ladies Auxiliary had their meetings in the ballroom. Any joint functions were held in the ballroom.
My guest room was a king room with a sofa. The room was clean. Loved the soap in the bathroom. The bed was just ok as far as comfort. The king sheets didn't fit very well. When checking in, which was quick and friendly, we asked for a fridge since the rooms don't come with them. Housekeeping brought one up and set it up for us. The lighted magnifying mirror in the bathroom was a nice touch. The heavy drapes on the window were good for keeping out the cold since the temps were in the single digits all weekend. Only a couple problems: The shower rod was drooping in the middle which made it hard to keep the curtain pulled to the ends of the rod. The other problem: I couldn't lift the drain stopper in the sink to plug the drain. I put a washcloth over the drain when rinsing my contacts. Both problems were turned in at the desk when checking out.
Even though there was food in our 12 hospitality rooms(we provide our own food), a group of us ate in the restaurant one afternoon. Everyone's food was very good. A few of us visited the bar a couple nights and Brian was very friendly and great bartender!
I was at this hotel for 3 nights as were most of the other attendees. With the long hallways, we all got our exercise going from meetings, hospitality rooms, and our guest rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
36
25
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I try to get away every year to celebrate our anniversary. Because of scheduling conflict, this year we did not go far from home. We booked this hotel on Priceline with the name your own price, and are very happy with the value of this hotel at the price we paid. The hotel has been renovated and feels very clean. Everyone was very helpful and did everything they could to make our anniversary stay a memorable one. Some people say that they don't like the fact that the hotel is a little distant from restaurants and shopping, but I like the fact that you feel slightly secluded.

This was our second stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again when we are in the area.

If you like to gamble, the new Hollywood Casino is about 20 min away and is very nice. Shopping at Polaris and Easton are also only a short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location. That’s the reason I chose this property. There are amenities nearby but the location is certainly a business park. The staff was helpful. My room was nice and, again, older doesn’t mean bad but you will find the updates to be nice but the bones remain the same. Everything was clean and that will always be key. The halls are brightly lit. The pool was very nice as was the spa. The sign outside the baths in the pool area said they are being renovated. That will be nice since they need it. Breakfast in the morning was to be a complementary buffet because of my rewards level. The buffet wasn’t ready at 7:00 (I came in at 7:30) but was allowed to order off the menu. That was fine with me! I enjoyed my stay and have already made reservations to return on my way home.

Room Tip: I had a room on an upper floor and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2013 for business. It is clean and spacious, the beds are very comfortable, and the bathrooms are adequate. The internet access is not included, and costs $9 a night which is a little disappointing, since most high quality hotels provide it for free. The breakfast buffet is OK, but not great. This hotel is nice, but isn't great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear js2222,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We are pleased you did enjoy your clean, spacious room and comfortable bed.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have gotten this hotel many times through Priceline bids and it is always a disappointment. Even with some so-called remodeling, the decor is cheap and unattractive. Room amenities, bed linens, towels, furnishings, etc. are cheap and more appropriate for a much lower star level. General cleanliness in the rooms and public areas is below acceptable. Noise from the interstate was loud. There was snow and ice during my stay and very little attention was given to snow removal and safety. Parking is always a problem due to hotel events. I have never eaten in the restaurant as it is highly overpriced. There is very little in the way of restaurants near the hotel. The staff was polite but not especially friendly or warm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear girlwithmap1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering a world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stay at this hotel every time we are in the area. It has superb rooms, pool, and jacuzzi, and the breakfast buffet is superb. The staff does everything to accommodate our every need. It is quiet and relaxing and close to everything we needed. They offer shuttle service to anywhere you need to go.

Room Tip: I love the King rooms on the upper floors. quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed during a group event. Hotel location is easy to find and area feels safe. Room was clean and comfortable. Air conditioner was a bit noisy but no more than most places we have stayed. Meals were good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of shopping within easy driving distance. Good stay overall and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington

Address: 6500 Doubletree Avenue, Columbus, OH 43229 (Formerly Marriott North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 140 hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Columbus North provides all of the amenities needed to ensure that your stay is perfect including more than 60 HDTV channels, wired and wireless high-speed Internet, all new Precor fitness center as well as a 24-hour business center. We are located north of Columbus and complimentary shuttle service is available to any location within a 4 mile radius. We are within a few miles of Polaris Fashion Mall, Easton Town Center and Tuttle Mall. I-71 is easily accessible to visit the Ohio Expo Center & State Fairgrounds (Ohio State Fair) and Columbus Crew Stadium. We are close to The Ohio State University, home of the Buckeyes and the Horseshoe (OSU Football Stadium) as well as the Jerome Schottenstein Center. Additional nearby attractions include golf at Muirfield Village Golf Club, home of the PGA Memorial Golf Tournament, the Columbus Zoo, Franklin Park Conservatory and COSI. With over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, the Crowne Plaza Columbus North can accommodate large groups up to 1,000 people. We'll make your weddings, conference or banquet memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus North Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;