We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from a Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Sun Prairie
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expected more from a Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We've stayed at several Sheraton hotels, and perhaps because this one is downtown makes the difference. We felt for all the things that needed fixing in the room it is severely overpriced. The toilet ran constantly. The shower didn't drain and by the end of your shower you were standing in several inches of water. The sink dripped. The ice machine on the 9th floor didn't work for our entire stay. When the bellboy brought up our luggage he asked if he could get ice for us. We knew why shortly after he left because he probably also knew the machine didn't work. We called down and asked about getting it fixed twice - and still by the time we left it didn't work. I found some shredded cheese on the floor in the room - clear to me the vacuuming might not have been done prior to our arrival because we had no cheese with us. Some TLC by the staff and management might be needed here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    43
    22
    16
See reviews for
27
43
7
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

1 week stay here was comfortable and without problems. Club lounge worth the extra expense as the brekfast was wonderful with fresh fruit, juice, eggs, bacon, yogurts and oatmeal. Coffe available in the club lounge was good.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators is usually quiet. Upper floors are club level. Club lounge was well run and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nicely situated next to Capitol square and Bicentenary gardens.
Checking in at reception speedy and efficiently with very friendly and helpful staff. This was very welcome after travelling for 20 hours.
Rooms are very spacious , comfortable and clean.
They do a great breakfast.
All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: From what I can gather they are pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A comfortable hotel in a great location. Nothing stand out about it, there must be a quality control issue with house keeping - bed's made and that's about it......so wipe up your crumbs and hang up your bath mat.
I do hope that the ice machine is working for you - it wasn't on floor 9 or 8 I had the feeling they hadn't worked for a while as the staff's despondent response was a little too jaded.
Good views and spacious rooms.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was great, luxurious, and the staff were helpful and friendly. Great location, with beautiful surroundings. Try to get a room overlooking the park if you can. Only downside is the Wifi is so slow you'd be better off using carrier pigeon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a great time at this hotel. The location of the hotel is downtown near some good restaurants. The staff where friendly and were happy to help. Although signage around the hotel isn't great i found this hotel clean and overall a good place to stay if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veiw and the higher you go the better. i was on the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton during the Rock on the Range concert. We were there for 4 nights. From the time we walked in the door service was outstanding. The Valet guys were the best. Friendly, funny, helpful. The rooms and the hotel overall was spotless and beautiful. We will be staying there next year again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Deirdre I,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. It is so great to hear compliments about the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and our staff. We hope to see you again next year for Rock on the Range or maybe just visiting Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.