We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had seen the poor Trip Advisor Reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wish I had seen the poor Trip Advisor Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an older hotel in need of significant improvement. I had a hard time finding an electric outlet in my room to plug in my laptop. I had to move furniture to gain access to the one available outlet. The club lounge is nice but the rooms are just not up to what I would expect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton C, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
*Tripadvisor: “Re: Wish I had seen the poor Trip Advisor Reviews”

Dear entrada,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. I apologize for the outlets in your guestroom not being easier to locate. As far as the outlets, there are additional outlets in each bedside table. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    43
    22
    16
See reviews for
27
43
7
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were in town for a football game and decided to stay downtown given a very attractive AAA rate with breakfast. We had never been in downtown Columbus and were very impressed by the city and the hotel. Except for some glitches with the room keys our stay was very nice as was the breakfast on the Club floor. The two rooms were very good though the tub and toilet plumbing were showing some wear problems. The only disappointment was no pool but for the rate we paid on a football weekend that really was not an issue. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even offered a shuttle to and from the game - we did not use it but it is a nice service. As a gold member I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Fondue4two,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and numerous amenities we offer. The shuttle to the OSU football games are a nice bonus as we drop you off so close to the stadium and you do not have to worry about the traffic and parking. We are very happy to know your stay at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we look forward to seeing you again for your next OSU home game stay in Columbus!
Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

stayed there overnight for a business trip. very nice service and staff all around from the valet parking to the reception desk. on-site bar is great to grab a beer after work. even has a starbucks onsite for the morning coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer. We hope to see you again for your stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This downtown property is within walking distance of C O S I and many downtown attractions. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The valet parking is $23.00 for the day so park your car and check in first. You will easily spend that much if you visit 2 or 3 downtown venues. The staff is extremely friendly and answered all our questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear NewAlbanyMiller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and perfect downtown location. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a birthday weekend and had a great time. The location could not have been better for everything we had planned. Only a 20 minute walk to short north shops and restaurants, the truck food festival was happening in the park behind the hotel, we were a block away from the theater and only a 15 minute drive to Easton for some of the best shopping we have ever done in Ohio. The hotel is a little expensive, but if you call them directly there may be some hidden specials. There is a free shuttle for limited times during the day. The rooms are updated and very clean. Coffee maker in the room. No fridge or mini bar. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. We ended up parking 2 blocks away at a lot for $5 a day with in and out privileges . There are hotels closer to Ohio state, but you also pay a higher price. The best part of this hotel is the staff, from the front desk to chip the valet guy everyone wants to make sure you are having a good time and know where you are going. We were very impressed and would stay here again. Thanks to everyone for making our first visit to Columbus such a special one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear bikingmom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and perfect downtown location. You mentioned the lack of refrigerators and microwaves in the guestrooms, these are not a standard in our rooms. However for your next stay, we do offer some upgraded Executive King rooms, these rooms are slightly larger than a standard king room, have a capitol building/city view and have a refrigerator/microwave combo. These rooms are an upgrade of $20 extra per night. Another option is that we have refrigerators available at a minimal one time rental fee and there is a microwave in the lobby for guest use.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed the Birthday weekend at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in town for the Columbus Summer Beer Festival and this hotel was terrific. The staff was great (from check in to restaurant staff) and the fact that they are pet friendly made all the difference. The view was nice as well. We will stay here again when we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Rusty B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff throughout the hotel. I am also glad you were able to bring your pet and hope you were able to use the large Columbus Commons park right outside our back door. We hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton Columbus at Capital Square. Here are the pros and cons based on our experience:

Pros:

~Clean room (no b. bugs)
~Excellent dinner and breakfast through room service
~Pay per view movies (I don't normally list this in my reviews. However, this hotel does not list this amenity on their web site.)
~Nice decor in room (It is obvious that this hotel has been recently renovated.)
~Comfortable bed
~Spacious bathroom
~Good customer service

Cons:

~The A/C was underpowered (We had this same issue at this hotel when it was a Hyatt. We were hoping that Starwood upgraded the A/C units when they converted the hotel to a Sheraton. Unfortunately, this was not the case.)
~Do not rely on a wake up call (We ordered 2 wake up calls. One at 6:30 am and another at 6:45 am. We did not receive either wake up call and ended up oversleeping. Be sure to set the alarm if you stay at this hotel.)

Overall, our stay was a pleasant experience and this is a nice hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Chops1971,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We apologize for the underpowered AC and the missed wake-up calls in the guestroom this is not a standard and we are addressing these issues with our front desk and engineering department. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall guestroom and Room Service experience at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus! Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.