We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Football Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
517 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Football Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were in town for a football game and decided to stay downtown given a very attractive AAA rate with breakfast. We had never been in downtown Columbus and were very impressed by the city and the hotel. Except for some glitches with the room keys our stay was very nice as was the breakfast on the Club floor. The two rooms were very good though the tub and toilet plumbing were showing some wear problems. The only disappointment was no pool but for the rate we paid on a football weekend that really was not an issue. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even offered a shuttle to and from the game - we did not use it but it is a nice service. As a gold member I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Fondue4two,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and numerous amenities we offer. The shuttle to the OSU football games are a nice bonus as we drop you off so close to the stadium and you do not have to worry about the traffic and parking. We are very happy to know your stay at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we look forward to seeing you again for your next OSU home game stay in Columbus!
Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    111
    57
    26
    20
See reviews for
42
67
8
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

stayed there overnight for a business trip. very nice service and staff all around from the valet parking to the reception desk. on-site bar is great to grab a beer after work. even has a starbucks onsite for the morning coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer. We hope to see you again for your stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This downtown property is within walking distance of C O S I and many downtown attractions. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The valet parking is $23.00 for the day so park your car and check in first. You will easily spend that much if you visit 2 or 3 downtown venues. The staff is extremely friendly and answered all our questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear NewAlbanyMiller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and perfect downtown location. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
164 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a birthday weekend and had a great time. The location could not have been better for everything we had planned. Only a 20 minute walk to short north shops and restaurants, the truck food festival was happening in the park behind the hotel, we were a block away from the theater and only a 15 minute drive to Easton for some of the best shopping we have ever done in Ohio. The hotel is a little expensive, but if you call them directly there may be some hidden specials. There is a free shuttle for limited times during the day. The rooms are updated and very clean. Coffee maker in the room. No fridge or mini bar. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. We ended up parking 2 blocks away at a lot for $5 a day with in and out privileges . There are hotels closer to Ohio state, but you also pay a higher price. The best part of this hotel is the staff, from the front desk to chip the valet guy everyone wants to make sure you are having a good time and know where you are going. We were very impressed and would stay here again. Thanks to everyone for making our first visit to Columbus such a special one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear bikingmom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and perfect downtown location. You mentioned the lack of refrigerators and microwaves in the guestrooms, these are not a standard in our rooms. However for your next stay, we do offer some upgraded Executive King rooms, these rooms are slightly larger than a standard king room, have a capitol building/city view and have a refrigerator/microwave combo. These rooms are an upgrade of $20 extra per night. Another option is that we have refrigerators available at a minimal one time rental fee and there is a microwave in the lobby for guest use.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed the Birthday weekend at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in town for the Columbus Summer Beer Festival and this hotel was terrific. The staff was great (from check in to restaurant staff) and the fact that they are pet friendly made all the difference. The view was nice as well. We will stay here again when we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Rusty B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff throughout the hotel. I am also glad you were able to bring your pet and hope you were able to use the large Columbus Commons park right outside our back door. We hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton Columbus at Capital Square. Here are the pros and cons based on our experience:

Pros:

~Clean room (no b. bugs)
~Excellent dinner and breakfast through room service
~Pay per view movies (I don't normally list this in my reviews. However, this hotel does not list this amenity on their web site.)
~Nice decor in room (It is obvious that this hotel has been recently renovated.)
~Comfortable bed
~Spacious bathroom
~Good customer service

Cons:

~The A/C was underpowered (We had this same issue at this hotel when it was a Hyatt. We were hoping that Starwood upgraded the A/C units when they converted the hotel to a Sheraton. Unfortunately, this was not the case.)
~Do not rely on a wake up call (We ordered 2 wake up calls. One at 6:30 am and another at 6:45 am. We did not receive either wake up call and ended up oversleeping. Be sure to set the alarm if you stay at this hotel.)

Overall, our stay was a pleasant experience and this is a nice hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Chops1971,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. We apologize for the underpowered AC and the missed wake-up calls in the guestroom this is not a standard and we are addressing these issues with our front desk and engineering department. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall guestroom and Room Service experience at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus! Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! The staff is always very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and they feel quite spacious . The beds are comfortable and the views of downtown Columbus are great. I definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear kevi747,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear compliments about our staff and guestrooms. You have been added to the long list of guests that love our beds. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.