We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #63 of 140 hotels in Columbus
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel, across from the Capitol Building in Columbus, is ideally located for business or travel. The parking was easy, the checkin was efficient, the hotel room was spacious and well kept. This is a superb choice when visiting Columbus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear sandbanks1952,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. We are very happy to know that you appreciated our location, parking, and guestrooms. Sheraton strives to exceed the guest experience and I am pleased that you shared this feedback. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    71
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
26
35
7
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

House keeping in this hotel definitely needs an over haul. We are talking about a Sheraton Hotel. I would expect at least the room to be clean. With that said they also charge 10 a day for Internet. Ridiculous! A Super 8 Has higher standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear mystiss,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. I apologize for the housekeeping issues experienced during your stay. If you are willing to provide additional information on specific housekeeping concerns that you would like to share with our management team, please send an email to GuestService@sheratoncolumbuscapitolsquare.com so we may address it with you directly. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

very good location - just one block from the state capitol. plenty of restaurants, shops, etc. within easy walking distance. check in was friendly and efficient. room was spacious. in general, room was generally clean - however it appeared that the room had not been dusted anytime recently . all flat surfaces seemed to have a layer of dust. needed some foam pillows - took 45 minutes to get them delivered. valet parking staff was very good. for some reason could not get comfortable in the nice big king bed. sheets seemed rough - not sure if they just use cheap thread count or something else. would be willing to give this place another shot

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear jon s,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback. I will share this feedback with our team in the entire hotel. It is always great to hear positive comments about our hotel and staff. I apologize for the dust in the room, which should have been caught prior to your arrival. Also, there are foam pillows in each room and I apologize for the long wait to receive additional foam pillows. As far as the sheets, we use the standard Sheraton 300 Count Cotton Blend sheets that are part of the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper ensemble. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again for your next stay in Columbus!

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked this hotel through Priceline since the room rates seemed high through Sheraton. The hotel was very nice and up to par with most other SPG properties I have stayed at. The restaurant/lounge on the second floor was great with good service and a great happy hour. ($2.50 for draft beer) Unfortunately when I booked this trip a family emergency came up so I had to change my checkin from Tuesday to Wednesday, hoping they would be able to move my Tuesday night reservation to Thursday. Not only would they do NOTHING to help me out, I had to call and speak with about 4 different people just to keep them from cancelling my entire reservation since I wouldnt be able to check in into Wednesday!! (You will cancel my reservation for the night I payed for??!? I understand that since I booked through a third party that there are no refunds and no change options. However, whenever I spoke to anyone at this hotel they acted as if they are completely helpless against any reservation that is booked through a third party. Really?? The fact that they would insult my intelligence and act like they cannot move rooms around is laughable. Priceline (or any other third party booking agent) does not dictate what the hotel can or cannot do. I am a frequent business traveler so it annoyed me greatly that they wouldnt do anything for me when I asked. So I gave them once last chance as I was checking out to make up for the lost night (at $150 a night) in any way, and the lady rudely told me SORRY, we cannot do ANYTHING FOR YOU! Horrible customer service and I will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. I apologize for the confusion on the 3rd party reservation and unfortunately their rules restrict us at the hotel from making changes to any reservation in most cases. If booking through Sheraton or Starwood, our rates are more flexible than a 3rd party. It sounds as though you may have already addressed these issues with our management team, but if you would like to discuss any other issues with a member of the hotel management, please send an email to GuestService@sheratoncolumbuscapitolsquare.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times when it was the Hyatt and once since it became the Sheraton. Each time I stayed there the level of hospitality and the cleanliness of the room got worse. I even got a room for my mother and father in law's wedding anniversary as a present for them. What a mistake. Although the food was amazing (Plaza restaurant on the Mezzanine level is 5 star), the room was dirty (stained carpet, old wallpaper, cracked tile in the bathroom), and the staff was egregious. I complained about it smelling like smoke in the room and the manager rudely told me that it was a non smoking hotel. Like I must be crazy! The walls are paper thin and there were some guests partying in there the last time I stayed there. Kept me up all night. Now the food has gone downhill too. That really was the last thing they had going for them and they must have changed restaurant managers when the Sheraton took over. If you have to stay in downtown Columbus, do yourself a favor. Stay at the Westin, the Red Roof Inn, or the Crowne Plaza. This hotel is one of the worst. And for the money you could stay at a much much nicer property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear TBenit,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. You may have already addressed these issues with our management team, but if you would like to discuss any other issues with a member of the hotel management, please send an email to GuestService@sheratoncolumbuscapitolsquare.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place opened as a Hyatt 20 years ago and has declined with time. Just fine if you need to be in downtown Columbus for business, but not a destination. Barely adeiquate restaurant and other facilities

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Studaddy7,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. After just completing a full top to bottom renovation just a few months ago, we would like to know if there are specific issues that you would like to discuss with our management team, please send an email to GuestService@sheratoncolumbuscapitolsquare.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this Sheraton twice. The first time, I asked the check-in clerk whether they had ever had bed bugs (almost as a joke). But what she replied to me was no joke: she said, "I haven't heard that we have, but if we did, I certainly wouldn't tell YOU about it!". Huge red flag number 1. The second time we stayed there I couldn't remember much about the room or anything else about the hotel's lay out, restaurant, etc. When I walked in, the check-in clerk's comment came flooding back. When we hit the room the second time, I recalled why so little of the first visit was stored in my brain: it is very forgettable. Though updated, the room and bathroom are very dark (insufficient light in the bathroom). One of my biggest complaints was that the shower is VERY anemic. It took me about three times as long to take my morning shower. Also, they have these HUGE pillows. Now, I know a lot of people who like small pillows. I called after the first night to ask if they could bring up a smaller, foam (squishy) pillow. They said they didn't think they had any but that they would "look". Isn't that what a hotel specializes in? Pillows, a bed? Worse, they told me, "Most people love our big pillows", making me feel that I was weird for wanting a smaller one. NOT cool. I do not recommend this hotel. We will be staying elsewhere on our next trip to Columbus in May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#52 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.