We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #72 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with a friend while in town for a conference. Valet parking is $23/day - not terrible. The location of the hotel is really nice. We were able to walk to our conference at Nationwide Arena (a mile away), CVS (down the block), and to two different restaurants for dinner each night we were there. There is a very nice courtyard area with a fountain just outside the hotel. We felt safe walking at night in the area of the hotel, too.
The lobby is clean and modern. The Sheraton Link area of the lobby had a lot of computers always available for use. Starbucks was right there as well.
I'm not sure if the room we were in had gone through a refurbishment yet, at least I hope it hadn't. The carpet was dark, the wall paper was dark, the furniture was dark. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I'm used to with the Sheraton brand.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel. The staff at the front desk was friendly, the valet had our cars available in about 10 minutes, and the hotel was clean. I would not hesitate staying there again if the need arises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear gator_ade16, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the city.
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and there is a chance that you were in one of our unrenovated guestrooms. At this point as of just a few days ago all of our guest floors available are completely renovated. The new rooms are much brighter with a modern look and we hope that you will get to experience the new product very soon for your next stay in Columbus! Sincerely, Manager at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    91
    48
    24
    19
See reviews for
35
53
7
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was in Columbus on business and expected a nice experience. The Sheraton is a great brand right? The staff was great, very friendly and helpful, but housekeeping? I have never experienced such horrible housekeeping. I was there for five days. The rugs were never vacuumed neither was the floor in the bathroom swept or mopped. Trash cans were not emptied unless I put them in the middle of the room. Dirty towels were left on the floor and clean towels just plopped on the racks with no attention to detail. The bathroom sink was never cleaned and one day I noticed blood on the duvet cover. I started looking for bedbugs and fortunately didn't find any. After this experience I will never stay at another Sheraton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Formally the Hyatt, the Sheraton Capitol Square has been updated and renovated. The shiny floors are like the other new Sheratons, as well as the lobby and computer area. There is a small mall attached with a couple of food joints and a place for soda and snacks. Inside the hotel you will find a Starbucks that opens to the outside street. The rooms have all been updated and are very impressive with the modern furniture. I don't understand why the Sheratons are redoing the rooms if you can't have a plug in for your phone beside the bed or on the lamp, what's up with that.

Perfect beds, Starbucks single serve coffee makers, and SHINE toiletries. Wonderful night sleep, can't wait to sleep here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear FlyMom10, Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. It would be appreciated if you would contact us at cmorrow@dhmhotels.com to let us know which exact room you were in to make sure that the room has been completed with the power strip attached to the night stand next to the bed. The power strip should have been installed in all rooms during the renovation, thank you for bringing this to our attention.We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Columbus!
Sincerely, Manager at Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. It used to be the Hyatt on Capitol Square. I stayed there a few years ago when it was a Hyatt and I must say that Sherato has completely overhauled the interior. The lobby is more modern and welcoming. Clearly the updates have done wonders to the appearance of the place. However, underneath those updates, there are some small things that still need modernizing. Some of the carpet and plumbing. The price for parking during the weekend was my only complaint. It was dead in the city and the parking was $25 a night. It was outrageous! I can see if it was a busy busy weekend, but I felt kind of taken.

Room Tip: I have been told to ask for the newly renovated rooms. Not sure if that is all of them at this point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDowntown, Manager at Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear PickyHotelReviewer, Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you appreciated the renovated rooms at the Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square. There are still a few items that you mentioned that we are working on updating and replacing. We have put over $10 million into the renovation and it impacted all areas of the hotel including some plumbing updates. We understand your concern with Valet Parking. Valet Parking at the hotel is a flat fee that allows unlimited in and out privledges. The surrounding self-parking options cost on each entry or exit. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Columbus!
Sincerely, Manager at Sheraton Columbus Capitol Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My trip to Columbus was another excellent visit due to the outstanding accommodations at the Sheraton Capital Square. Upon my arrival, the valet was extremely crowded but very efficient and quick. In spite of the long line, my check-in was also very efficient and quick. I was rather surprised at how fast the whole process went. The room was very spacious, clean and pleasant. I loved how it was laid out, very well thought out. The bed was extremely comfortable, the a/c was easy on and I had a view of the beautiful church across the street for sale. It was very quiet and I noticed no other noises while sleeping. I am a very light sleeper. Very close to many of the amenities and across the street from the Capitol. How convenient. A very enjoyable stay and I would absolutely recommend this hotel for your visit to Columbus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed during a hectic July 4th week for girls national volleyball tournament at Columbus Convention Center. The staff at the Sheraton were fantastic. Some renovations were underway and they really made the stay comfortable. The manager, Stacey, was organized to accomadate impromptu dinners in the lobby for fatiqued teams, help with extra refrigerators for the rooms and tracking little children. Beds were extremely comfortable, rooms clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night and enjoyed the view on July 4th - saw many fireworks displays in the distance. The room was modern, spacious, and clean. The bathroom had a huge counter and a fine shower with a wide curved curtain. We used the safe, but we missed having a mini-fridge in the room. In the morning, we worked out in the fitness room on the 22nd floor - awesome views and nice equipment (bikes, treadmills, elipticals, and weight machines). Overall, it was a great experience for the price ($70 on priceline + about $20 for fees).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.