We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay - rehab needed and is in progress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #74 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Decent stay - rehab needed and is in progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed one night here while relocation to Columbus. The hotel is in need of a makeover, and it is clear that the makeover is in progress. The hotel is in a great, safe location right downtown. The beds are extremely AWESOME and the room was clean; just needs a fresh coat of touch-up paint.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    83
    47
    23
    18
See reviews for
32
47
7
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Part of a point of getting a hotel is getting a good nights rest. Part of the hotel is under renovation and the noise of the construction woke us up. Then the cleaning lady repeatedly knocked on our door at 9am. Very disappointing. You would think they would know we had not checked out yet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at this property for two nights from April 2-4 while we were in Columbus visiting COSI and other Columbus attractions with our 2 kids.

Having stayed here several times when the property was a Hyatt, we knew that this was a decent hotel in a convenient location. However, the Hyatt property was very dated, the lobby restaurant was terrible, and service was average.

This was our first stay since the property converted to a Sheraton last Fall. The new owners are making some fantastic changes to make this hotel truly a 4 star property. With these upgrades, improved customer service, and the outstanding location, this will be one of the best choices for luxury accomodations in downtown Columbus. Be aware, though, that the remodeling is in progress so there is some noise during the day and not all rooms have yet been renovated.

We booked the hotel using Priceline. Although room requests are not guaranteed when booking through Priceline, we were able to get the room we wanted since the hotel was a little slow during the 2 nights of our stay.

The room renovations are outstanding. The color scheme in our room was sleek grays, blacks, and browns. The furniture, beds/bedding, television, bath vanity, lighting, closets, bath fixtures all appeared to be new and beautiful. The desk chair and easy chair were very comfortable. I don't believe the bath tubs/showers have changed other than new shower curtains. One of the great things about this property is that the rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. In the renovated rooms, the combination of the room size and new contemporary furnishings makes for a luxurious experience.

The carpet in the hallways received a much needed replacement and create a bright and vibrant ambience. The Hyatt hall carpets were dark and in disrepair.

We found the cleanliness of the rooms to be quite good. I actually briefly observed the housekeeping staff cleaning the room next to ours and they were doing an extremely thorough job.

Sheraton is redesigning the front desk area and is either eliminating or completely changing the lobby restaurant, which was a disgrace under Hyatt.

We found the staff to be extremely warm and helpful during our entire stay. This included the bell boys, front desk staff, 2nd floor restaurant staff, and housekeeping. One lady at the front desk was particularly helpful and spent about 20 minutes with us providing maps and information on things to do and places to eat that were kid friendly.

There are only a few negatives worth mentioning.

As with most downtown hotels, parking can be expensive and a logistical challenge. We parked in the public parking lot under the statehouse right across the street for about $12/day. This is half the hotel valet parking rate and took only 3 minutes or so to walk from our car to the hotel. If we had a lot of luggage, this would have been less convenient.

The sound-proofing between rooms is very poor. My wife was kept up until 2 am one night by two guests talking in the room next to ours.

While the beds are very comfortable, the sheets weren't quite as soft and high quality as the Westins, for example.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel when staying in downtown Columbus!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and was generally pleased with the whole experience. WORD OF WARNING: they are renovating, so make sure to ask if they are finished or be prepared for a short menu at the restaurant without much seating. There are actually quite a few restaurants close by, so be sure to talk to the concierge. Also, ask for the discount valet parking, we got ours for only $10.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Be sure to get an already renovated room. Was large, comfortable and new. A bit on the dark side and no full length mirror. Good room service. No minibar, but single serve coffee maker. Great location if you have business at Capitol.

Room Tip: Make sure it has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading to the airport. As a Starwood Platinum member we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite, which had beautiful views of the city, three bathrooms and a sauna. The Suite was definitely dated but we understand that it is to be remodeled soon. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly, as was the valet. If you are budget-conscious, don't pay to park at the hotel. There are several parking lots/structures within a block or two that are much cheaper and street parking is available on the weekends. The only real drawback was that we stayed here on a Sunday evening and there was nowhere in the hotel or close by (that we could see) to get a few bottles of water or snacks as everything was closed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square. I am hoping that the Sheraton is in the process improving and I just happen to stay before it was finished. There were some positives with the hotel. The room was relatively large. The desk staff was very accommodating. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good: Eggs fluffy, light pancakes, etc. The public areas were very nice and clean. When we requested non-down pillows and comforter, they were brought promptly. Unfortunately, the Sheraton did not provide a consistently satisfactory experience.

While the room and bathroom were large, the hotel didn't attempt to decorate, to make the setting classier. For example, the room could have handled a sofa. Why not provide a flat screen tv (instead of the outdated medium sized one they used). More hooks or a shelf to hang towels were needed in the bathroom (since there adequate space for one), etc. I could not find venting in the bathroom. The carpeting was NOT clean. If you wanted to see something really frightening, you just had to look at the cleanliness of the carpeting around the bed. (I was plugging in an extension chord and had to look . . . ) There was a carpet stain in the center of the room the size of a dinner plate. We had several banquet room meals during the conference we were attending. The food was about average but I assume the staff was under-manned. Though coffee cups were on the table, we never received it and staff seemed a little too busy to be interrupted or reminded. I expect a consistently higher quality experience. Is this the kind of reputation the Sheraton chain wants? It's been many years since I stayed in a Sheraton and this certainly would not bring me back if I had a choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room facing the Capitol Bldg. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 75 East State St, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt
Sheraton Columbus At Capitol Square Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.