We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Hutchinson Avenue, Columbus, OH 43235   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Advance Purchase
Ranked #51 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I was so impressed by the consistent, personal, friendly and high quality service from the staff at this Doubletree. Each person I interacted with, from front desk to the waitress in the restaurant was so willing to help me and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable.
I travel a lot - and hotels vary a lot. The service and genuine hospitality of this particular Doubletree was equal to a 5 star hotel, and a actually a bit better, as it was in the nature of the individuals.
Lastly, I was astonished by the affordability. As a Hilton Honors member I had free wi-fi, free breakfast buffet and an amazing room cost. This is definitely my hotel for the Columbus, OH area.

Room Tip: The first floor has easy access to the pool and the courtyard - nice open spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    119
    91
    33
    15
See reviews for
80
59
27
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

This truly was a very nice hotel, we will use this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

They have recently refurbed the Fourth floor, however, the carpet and new paint cannot cover years of stale odor and bad upkeep.
The service has always been ok here, but the quality of Hilton property is not here.
The rooms are slightly small the beds are small and hard, the furniture is still old and worn inspire of the refurb. The TV's are old and huge. They just really haven't put effort into updating the hotel. The refurb was merrily a coverup.
The history of this property has had problems with bedbugs but I haven't heard of any cases here in quite sometime now so they have this cured.
On the plus side, this hotel is close, walking distance, to plenty of restaurants and sports bars with good food and also a movie theater.
You are about 20 to 30 mins drive to downtown and about 10 mins from the Polaris Mall.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest:

I would like to thank you for your kind review. We learn a great deal from our guests like yourself. We at the Doubletree by Hilton pride ourselves to improve our services.

We are improving our hotel slowly but surely. New hallway carpeting, 37" LCD TV's, elevator upgrades and more. The Food and Beverage department is working on upgrading our breakfast and dinner and hope it will be too your liking.

Once again, we thank you for being a loyal Hilton guest and we hope to see you soon at the Doubletree by Hilton.

Warm regards
Frank Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbana ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed in a double room while attending a recent weekend conference. The room was good size, and -- a huge plus! -- I could actually control the temperature in the room to my satisfaction. For some reason, the keycards to the rooms were problematic...we found ourselves often in the halls with other people, swiping the key cards 10-15 times (or more) until the green light came on and allowed entrance. Getting a new card did not solve the issue. The bathroom was really nice, with a wonderful shower! So, in a sense, this hotel meets the basic needs of a traveler nicely. Our room was clean and quiet. Yes, there was an older-style TV, but it worked fine and, for the rate we were paying, was more than satisfactory. Restaurant staff kept complaining about how they were "slammed" by our group choosing to eat there. Food (once it finally arrived) was decent. And to give credit where it is due, the restaurant "comped" one of our meals because of the long wait we endured.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, wv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Made reservations at Government Leasure rate on website, which site stated that the rate included breakfast for two. Upon arrival at hote, I was told that that rate did not include breakfast. There was lots of adjacent room noise, TV and talking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in respect to the coupon confusion at the front desk. There have been misunderstandings concerning the government leisure rate including breakfast.

At the DoubleTree by Hilton we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. I'm so sorry you did not receive your complimentary breakfast. I will ensure that each front desk agent is properly educated on the promotions for the hotel and that it will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I was surprised at how down at heel this property was.

Does it 'check the boxes' - yes, but barely.

Wireless Internet - true Statement, however, the connection rate is so slow that it is difficult to pay a bill on line, let alone get video - spells cheap to me - they could have paid for more bandwidth.

Gym - true Statement , but, seriously, breathing chlorine fumes from the adjacent pool next to the small room that serves as 'a gym' - that stretches the hype.

Rooms are small, with very thin walls; yup, you sneeze and the person in the next room says 'bless you'.

Housekeeping. Just wear socks. For those that stay in hotels all the time, you will understand.

Television; Flat screen - no. Not even close.

Restaurant; The windowless room that serves as a restaurant is so in need of management, it is sad. Great people work there, without the resources. Breakfast is a cardiologists dream - absent of oranges, bananas and apples - there are few healthy choices.

And finally, the traffic noise - the hotel is next to a major highway - google map the site and you will see. Poor double (wish it were triple) glazing, means having a white noise a/c on.

There are many better options in the area Hyatt, Marriott, that are newer, purpose built and modern.

I would find it difficult to return to this property, based on the poor Internet connectivity, lack of healthy food and noise levels. If they were to increase their rate and move funds into improvement, that would make a difference.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review. The hotel recently upgraded the hallway carpeting, installed new LG 37" LCD Televisions and improved on the guestroom amenities. We pride ourselves on continuously improving where we can.

We thank you for your loyalty to Doubletree by Hilton and hope to see you very soon again.

Warm regards
Frank Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at this property when I was in Columbus for a business meeting held at the hotel. It's a fairly large property with quite a bit of meeting space, and appeared to have a fairly large number of guest rooms.

Several signs indicated that the hotel is in process of renovation, but until that happens, I'd describe it as a bit threadbare and in needing of update. The hotel lobby is large, but a bit worn-looking. Everything is beige. Not particularly bad, but not particularly good.

As far as sleeping rooms go, again, fine. I'm guessing the bathroom has been updated already -- it was big and the counters and fixtures still seemed fairly new. The bed, too, was probably updated -- it had a bunch of pillows, was very comfortable, etc. But the other furniture seemed about 15 years old, and the television was still an old 25-inch CRT television.

The location is actually pretty good. Right off the I-270, and in an area with numerous chain restaurants, and a big cinema across the street. If you have to be staying at a hotel in the suburbs, it's a decent choice. I'm sure it will get better as the renovations occur over the next few months.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one on the side of the hotel away from I-270?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington

Address: 175 Hutchinson Avenue, Columbus, OH 43235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#32 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Columbus Worthington is conveniently located in the Crosswoods/Worthington area of Columbus. Offering 306 beautifully renovated guest rooms with a wide selection of amenities to enhance your experience. Full service restaurant and bar, fitness center, catering & meeting rooms (17,000 square feet). High speed internet is available in all guest rooms and is complimentary in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Columbus
Columbus Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.