We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 East Nationwide Blvd., Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Halifax, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed her with my partner and two children (ages 6months and 9 years) for two nights. The hotel staff were very friendly. I think the valet parking was reasonably priced (though I hate paying for parking :)) The pool was kinda small and only one depth (5 ft). I think now a days, every "nice" hotel should have free wifi. I thought ten bucks a day was a little much. I think the rooms with two double beds seemed smaller then most other hotels we have stayed at, but they were clean and comfy. The flat screen TV was nice, though was irritated there was no channel lineup in the hotel info book in the room. The refrigerator was a pleasant surprise. It didn't have a temp control in it, but it did what it was suppose to... Keep the kids drinks cold! I got a good deal through a travel website. my overall experience was good. And yes, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown as your home during your recent visit to Columbus. I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience during your stay. We try to anticipate what matters most to our guests during their visits to our hotel, and are very glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have you as our guest again soon! All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    102
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
47
57
16
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The staff at the Crowne Plaza were very friendly and helpful on every situation. I had an issue with my room and they had a service person in my room within 15 minutes. The staff was exceptional. The room itself was great, the bed was very comfortable and I slept as well as I can in a hotel room.

I recommend others to this hotel and would stay again the next time I'm in Columbus!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, I agree with you! We are one of the best hotels! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the world via tripadvisor. We are very appreciative of your business and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a cheerleading tournament and this hotel was by far the most convenient hotel we've stayed in throughout the competition season. I loved that the hotel was connected by skywalk to the convention center, allowing my daughter and her friends to go back and forth between hotel and convention center safely. There was a Max & Erma's restaurant across the entry to the hotel, again, very convenient. The hotel lobby was very large, with tons of seating for get togethers in the evenings after competition. The staff was great, extremely helpful and accomodating, the rooms were very clean and updated. Any requests made of the front desk were addressed immediately (extra towels). The hotel even offered our group valet parking at a reduced rate, again, very much appreciated. Although we didnt walk around the area too much as we were too busy, when we drove around looking for a restaurant very late in the evening, we found that there were a multitude of dining options within walking distance. I hope if we return next year to Columbus for a competition, we return to the Crowne Plaza. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown and for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.com. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I loved the Crowne Plaza. We had a corner king bed room, it was roomy, quiet and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was nice with great amenities (nice toiletries, makeup mirror, etc). The staff was friendly and helpful, we had a slight problem with the TV and they went out of their way to promptly fix it. The hotel is in the arena district which is the best area to stay. Take a walk to the Short North area, lots of restaurants and shops to browse. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
I am so glad you chose the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown as your "home away from home" during your recent trip to Columbus. I am so glad you were able to enjoy our hotel and its great location to the fullest during your visit. We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for your kind comments. All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I had left my phone in my hotel room and I called for the manager of housekeeping, Gary. He was professional, prompt and had my phone sent back to me within a few days...no charge. He knew exactly who I was when I called and had my phone all ready to ship out. I love this hotel. Thanks for helping me out Gary!!!:)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to recognize Gary's kind assistance in returning your phone promptly to you after your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you as our guest again soon! All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

An amazing SOHO experience right here in Columbus - Loft - is a beautifully layed-out and designed part of the CROWNE PLAZA. The staff is super friendly and the place is gorgeous and the beds comfortable. Will def come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for sharing with the world, through tripadvisor.com, the unique experience you had during your recent stay at The Lofts Hotel. I agree, our staff is amazing and the hotel is absolutely beautiful. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon and truly appreciate your business. All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I can't believe this hotel charges almost 10 dollars per day for Wi-Fi. I've been to campgrounds where it was free. The parking is very high too. I only stayed here because the beds are usually very comfortable due to the mattress toppers they use. Well, no mattress topper this time. Just an uncomfortable bed for $165 per night plus parking and Wi-Fi charges. What a rip-off. Stay at the Red Roof Inn on the same street. It is much cheaper and you get free breakfast and Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownekate, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown. I appreciate your concerns about the additional charges for select services we offer and would like to encourage you to check out our "Business Value Package". This package is priced $15 over the normal rate, and includes breakfast, high speed internet, and valet parking. By booking this package, you will save $16 per day. To make future reservations, please contact our reservations department directly by dialing (614) 461-2642. Thank you again for being our guest and I hope that you will be able to take advantage of this package savings in the future. All My Best, Kathyrn Burton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Address: 33 East Nationwide Blvd., Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to our stunning, newly renovated hotel. The brand new breathtaking guest rooms and meeting space are brimming with all the hip and modern appointments you've come to enjoy. Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, is just 2 blocks away and is bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Lifestyle Hotel now includes new items like a game room for the kids, a state of the art business center, coffee bar and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Enjoy live music or Broadway shows at the Palace or Ohio Theaters. Take in a live concert at the LC Pavilion or sit back and enjoy a movie at the Arena Grand Theatre. We are close to other Columbus destinations including the Museum of Art, COSI, Historic German Village, Victorian Village and The Ohio State University. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.