We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Kitchen and Cocktails

Tip Top Kitchen and Cocktails
73 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
614) 221-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,992 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are downtown Columbus, this is one of the places you should really try. Don't let the dark decor deter you, about a 1/2 step up from the "greasy spoon" category, the menu has a number of comfort food items on the menu that will please almost anyone. The pot roast and the roast beef sandwiches are great, and the chips they come with are absolutely outstanding!

If you have more time, I would suggest the pot roast dinner. Healthier? The salads are very nicely sized and won;t break the bank.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    13
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tip Top Isn't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Would have rated it higher but last time I visited, I found they had dropped my favorite dish from their menu (chicken fried steak). See ya, Tip Top.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tip Top has a great brunch menu. Service has always been over the top. I've been there several times and continue to go back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A potroast to make a bishop kick a hole in a stained glass window”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a perfect place for a relaxed dinner in a convivial atmosphere. The menu is great without being pretentious. The pot-roast would make a bishop kick a hole in a stained glass window. The beer selection is phenomenal with many locally brewed favorites.Service is friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I love this bar. They have interesting beers (as well as some old standbys) And their pot roast is divine. I make a pretty good pot roast, but they give me a run for my money!! :) The pot roast sandwich also comes on a pretzel roll! Can't beat that.
Bartenders and servers are all top notch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Kitchen and Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Tip Top Kitchen and Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tip Top Kitchen and Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.