We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extend a Suites Columbus North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extend a Suites Columbus North to your Saves list
Extend a Suites Columbus North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6125 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Nashville, Tn.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

I booked the hotel online so I was concerned to see what I would get. We only paid $35 for the room and $8 for a pet fee, since we were just spending one night and well we were kind of broke.
The place itself looks like a long two storied pre- manufactured house, kind of like a new trailer, the ones people use for offices and the like. Everything was very clean, the girl working 2nd shift at check in was very nice and friendly, was a good welcome.
Of course the decorations were very plain and the air was off when we got there but we just turned it on, went out for dinner and when we came back the room was comfortably chilly.
The room again was spotless, cannot say enough about that, whomever is managing the hotel is doing a great job. I'm still shocked that you can go somewhere now a days and even find a room that cheap let alone one that is not a roach motel!
I would definitely go back there again and would 100% reccommend it to someone on a tight budget!
Fantastic, was very pleased.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — They said online that pets were allowed but not that there was a nominal pet fee.
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely not a resort but if you need a quick place to stay it's a great value.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    4
    26
See reviews for
9
3
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

We were looking for a place to just spend the night during a road trip and save some bucks. We picked up one of those coupon books at a rest stop, and the Rodeway, amid several other hotels at this interchange, was about the cheapest at around $33/night for 1-2 people.

The room and bathroom were clean enough, and the property was quiet enough, but even with the AC on its highest settings, the room was uncomfortably warm. We ended up buying two small fans at the aforementioned Giant Eagle in order to sleep. (We doubted that requesting another room would have done much good, and we figured we can use the fans again at home.)

As another reviewer wrote, the TV is small and received one local station and about 4 cable stations, and that was it.

We skippped the lame breakfast of danishes, etc., in the morning, not wanting to spend any more time here than necessary. There's a Bob Evans nearby for a real breakfast.

We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

This is by far the WORST ever hotel I have even seen! I am not exaggerating here. After waiting for a good 10 minutes knocking on the receptionist’s window for her to show up, she finally did. The first room she sent us to was a complete DISASTER! It was FILTHY with the bedding thrown all over the floor and the window was boarded up! There was NO window and NO AC. How do they expect anyone to stay in a room like this? After going back and waiting for the receptionist to show up again from a back room, she sent us to another room. Though the bed was intact on this one it smelled of feces and urine and there were basketball size holes on the wall. Disgusted we left the hotel only to find ourselves in the middle of a police raid on the hotel premises!
This is by far the filthiest and the worst hotel I have ever been to. The place is literally a dump. I am certain there are multiple code violations with this hotel, and we did not feel comfortable or safe in it or in that environment. I am complaining to both Choice Hotels (Econo Lodge Corporate) and to Ohio/Columbus health departments. This hotel should NOT be allowed to operate like this! Also, there is a strip club just off the hotel, so it is certainly not a family friendly environment!
There are many other hotel options in Columbus. It may be a few bucks more, but at least they will be cleaner than this. I would have rather slept in my car at a rest area than sleep in those filthy rooms. This is the worst hotel I have ever seen – and please don’t bother looking this place up even.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbstown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

I was very concerned when I saw the first (and only review). I was not going to spend too much time at this motel, and I only needed a place to sleep.

Cost - Rooms in the Columbus area can be very expensive. This was a least cost room at $33 from the Choice Hotels' web site. Rooms also have a local tax of 16.75% too.

Condition - Everything was clean, with no mold, no smells. Except for the bathroom many things were worn out. For example carpets & lamp shades should have been tossed long ago.

Comfort - The mattress was a Serta, but the lowest quality (very hard). The bed has no boxspring. The mattress is on a platform. This is not a pillowtop mattress kind of place. The sheets and pillows were fine.

Television - It was a 19" with no remote control. The TV only had two channels and a dancing Direct TV symbol on the other channels. The front desk told me the cable was broken.

Location - Motel sits within a group of other motels. There is a very nice "Giant-Eagle" 24 hour supermarket / food court within walking distance.

Noise - Nothing to report.

Front Desk - Did have a person, but all transactions night and morning were done at the "night" window.

Breakfast - The standard muffins, coffee, juice, etc.

Summary - This is not where a family will spend a vacation. But it's great for the quick low cost overnight and take off in morning kind of place.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2005

I don't know where to begin. We were given our key and walked upstairs to go to our room and the entire hallway smelled like a restaurant kitchen. It was thick with smoke from cooking, and it became apparent that many of the other "guests" were permanent residents. Upon entering the room, black mold was spotted growing on the wall near the ceiling. The pillowcases were stained, and the bathroom was disgusting. My girlfriend and I decided we were not going to pay for the room and would find another place to stay. Upon returning to the office, the desk clerk was gone and a suspicious man appeared to be selling drugs out the front door. We left the key and a note explaining we decided not to stay. Do not stay here. It is far better to pay slightly more and stay in a different place.

  • Stayed May 2002, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extend a Suites Columbus North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extend a Suites Columbus North

Address: 6125 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extend a Suites Columbus North 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Daily, Weekly and Monthly Stays We provide microwave and refrigerator to the weekly and monthly guests with no additional charge. We provide maid service to the weekly and monthly guests with no additional charge. Our front desk is open 24 hours for assistance. Great place for those in between apartments, working in Columbus for an extended time, looking for temporary housing without worrying about bills or signing leases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Extend a Suites Columbus North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn North Hotel Columbus
Rodeway Inn Columbus
Columbus Rodeway Inn
Extend a Suites Columbus North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extend a Suites Columbus North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.