We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hamption Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8411 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Ape Zoo Package!
Ranked #5 of 140 hotels in Columbus
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hamption Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This very clean hotel was one of the best Hampton Inns I've ever stayed in. The rooms were nice and very clean. The beds were outstanding. The fitness room was spacious and had up to date quality equipment. The breakfast was terrific, including fresh strawberries and blackberries every day! Also the breakfast room was set up so smart so that people were never standing on top of each other as they made their choices. There are lots of restaurants on Polaris Parkway about a mile away. There is an inefficient McDonald's and a Steak and Shake very, very close by. The front desk clerk was really sharp and gave us flawless directions anytime we asked and was even aware of construction issues at certain exits and gave us smart instructions to avoid them. Very, very impressed with this hotel. If there is one thing that could be improved, it would be to improve the quality of the towels.

Room Tip: Only two elevators, so may want to request a room closer to the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share. Our breakfast offering is one we are always trying to improve upon. It is great to hear we are on the right track so far.
We hope that you can join us again soon.
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    73
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
133
54
24
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here with our team for a sports tournament. A really bad storm came through and the power went out all over Columbus. The staff handled this situation really well. They answered the same questions over and over without getting annoyed, they continued to help each guest with pleasure while working in the dark with no computer system. They were flexible, courteous and professional. In the morning they managed to serve a decent breakfast with a smile.
This is a very clean, extremely well maintained hotel with an updated gym in perfect condition and a very nice coin operated guest laundry room. The pool area is large and also very clean. The rooms were large and the suites have a little wet bar area with refrigerator.
Plenty of restaurants in the area and a nice mall, movie theater, Costco, Earth Fare, Dave and Busters, etc. just a mile or so away.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large. If you are trying to sleep a family of 5 they have two queen beds plus a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
It was a challenging time during these major storms and power outages. Some of our team members left thier own families without power to come in and take care of our guests. Your kinds words will mean alot to them, thank you so much!
We look forward to having your team back again and hopefully lights on during your next tournament!!
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

2 weekends ago my son was married near Columbus so we booked rooms at this Hampton Inn-I think we reserved 8 rooms. Machelle Collins, who is the director of sales for the hotel, was superb in making sure we had exactly what we wanted as far as rooms go. She and the rest of the staff I dealt with were extremely pleasant and patient as there was some confusion over the rooms we had reserved(on our side). The hotel itself was wonderful, the breakfast room was full non-stop, yet was well-stocked the whole time. The whole experience will be a wonderful memory for years to come.
Thank you, Machelle and staff!

Room Tip: The low numbers on each floor are farthest from the elevator. The elevator itself is not in the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for these tip and great comments. We really appreciate your praise, Machelle and our team have alot of hands on experience with groups. We work hard to handle all of your details so that you can come and have fun! We hope that we can look forward to your return.
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This place is great, the staff is always extremely friendly and ready to assist. The rooms are very modern and always clean! Area dining is exquisite with all kinds of cuisine to choose from, which is important if you're always on the road for business, like me. I travel every week in the tri-state area and this hotel is one of the best I stay in. I am a repeat customer and will continue to be.

Room Tip: Get a King Suite, it's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty. If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay even more comfortable I hope you will feel free to let me know. The feedback we recieve from our guest is key to helping us maintain a great guest experience!
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of a road trip to New York via Cleveland for a family wedding. From the outset Jill at reception was fantastically helpful and friendly, throughout our stay she chatted with us and gave us advice about what to see locally and the best way to get about. It was a great introduction to our holiday and the best hotel we stayed in throughout our trip. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, breakfast was excellent with plenty of hot and cold choices. Only thing which did not match up was the food we ordered in, expensive but we were late arriving and did not feel up to going out to find a restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your valued comments and feedback. Having Jill on our team is a real blessing, she is so welcoming and just a has a vast knowledge of our area. We hope you can find the opportunity to stay with us again!
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The Hampton Inn & Suites Polaris was a great location close to a major activity planned close by. It provided a welcomed respite upon arriving in Columbus with its spacious and comfortable room. It is one of the nicest Hamptons we have stayed at and the leisurely breakfast provided helped us get through a busy day. Everyone was helpful and the service was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We really appreciate your positive review of our staff and property! I hope you find the opportunity to visit us again soon. The Polaris area is such a convenient location to stay when visiting different parts of the city!
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently returned from a stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Polaris for a family event. First, the hotel is conveniently located off of I-71 in an area that has virtually any store or restaurant you could want in a couple of mile radius.

Second, the hotel is clean. We found the lobby area, the hallways, and the rooms (and I was in three different rooms visiting other family also staying in the hotel) to be in good order and to be very clean. This is important, especially when traveling with small children. We did not go into the pool area, but it too looked well kept.

We had a king studio suite and it was a good room. Having the mini fridge, microwave, and the extra sink can make a big difference. My only complaint about the room is that the bathroom sink is in the room and not in the bathroom. I know that this is a design trend, but when a baby is sleeping in the room, running water to wash your hands can be loud.

The breakfast each morning is well stocked and has a wide assortment. Included are make your own waffles (always fun), cereal, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit, hot items (eggs and meat), and oatmeal. Perhaps most importantly, however, is the constantly brewed coffee that is available all day in the lobby.

Finally, what made this stay outstanding was the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and genuinely wanted to help. I want to publicly thank the front desk staff for helping us out. When we arrived my son wasn't feeling well and they pointed us to a pediatric walk-in clinic only a few miles away. While any front desk would provide the location of the nearest doctor, it takes a special staff to check up on us later in the day and to ask how everyone was feeling (much better thank you!) the next day.

On our next trip to Columbus, we wouldn't hesitate to come back for another stay.

Room Tip: The studio suites are worth a little extra money for a lot more space and a little fridge and microw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to recongnize our team members. I am so proud to be of this team, they truely understand how their hard work and caring attitude make all the difference to our guests.
I also enjoyed your tips about the studio suite rooms. I agree when traveling with a family, they are a great option!
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris

Address: 8411 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#4 Business Hotel in Columbus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus/Polaris, OH, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Polaris
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.