We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better the Second Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8411 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Ape Zoo Package!
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Defiance, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Even Better the Second Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on two occasions and will make reservations again there. The location is wonderful, close to a myriad of shops and restaurants and right off of I-71. It's a little hard to spot, at first, because it sits behind a Wingate Hotel, but because of that location, it is quiet without the traffic noise. Our room was a lovely king room with a huge bathroom, all very clean and fresh looking. The desk clerks were especially helpful in giving us maps of the area for shopping and eating places and one even did a quick internet search for us. The hotel does offer an office area with two computers for the public, a nice exercise area and a pool. You won't be disappointed in the breakfast here - lots of variety in foods and a large eating space. The breakfast was well-attended, too, so areas were constantly refreshed. The first time we were here, there was a mix-up in our reservation so we were upgraded to a suite; now THAT was nice. We love this place. It's our go-to hotel for Columbus visits.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
It is a real pat on the back when we have return guests! It is our pleasure to earn this privledge! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your knowledge of our area and our property with the TripAdvisor community.
I hope that you will always let us know how we can best care for you while you are in Columbus.
Take care and see you soon!
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    79
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
144
59
25
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

It is a good lesson that one should check and re-check your personal items when you leave your room. We unfortunately left a two items in our room which was a cell phone charger and a very nice blouse. I called Housekeeping and left a message describing the cell phone charger. They called me back and said they found a charger and would mail it to me. When I received the charger over a week later, it was a very old dated charger that did not even work. Also, the charge on my credit card was $16.19 and I couldn't help but think as to why they didn't use a bubble pack envelope and send it regular mail. Regarding the second item, it was never found.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel service and amenties. We appreciate your time. I am very concerned to hear of the stuggles you encountered in regards to the return of your left items. I want to help you receive the correct items if I can. We keep all left guest items for 90 days. Please contact myself or Lawrence at the hotel so that we can work to get your left items back to you. Our phone number is 614-885-8400. I am so very sorry for these errors and I thank you very much for the antisipated opportunity to make it right.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This property was very clean and comfortable. The king bed was excellent. The room was very quiet. The hot tub was hot and the pool was just right. This was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
I am so pleased to hear you had a restful time with us. We are very near shopping, OSU stadium and the Columbus Zoo. All fun things to do and visit during the winter months. I hope we will have the opporunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay here! Never have I seen such a friendly staff or cleaner rooms! The location was right next to many nice restaurants and the very cool North Market.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thanks so much for your positive review of our property and team. We look forward to having you again as our guest.
Take care,

Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

For the past several years, we've made this Hampton Inn north of Columbus our regular overnight stay on our trips up to Buffalo, NY. The kids love the pool and hot tub. They love the waffles at breakfast. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel to choose from. The rooms are what you'd expect at a Hampton Inn. This isn't a place for a holiday, of course, but for an overnight on a road trip, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
I am really pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and amenties! Your feedback is what helps us deliver on our promise of a great experience during your stays!!! We do have some great options to stay in Buffalo as well. You can find us in a search for Buffalo Lodging LLC, which our ownership. I hope we can have you as our guests in Buffalo as well.
Take care and we hope to see you again!

Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The check-in was very fast and very cordial. The room was modern and very clean, with an exceptionally handsome bathroom. As is becoming more common in new properties, there was a shower but no tub. The shower floor was textured so that you don't slip. There were plenty of towels, though there was no towel bar by the sink; there were hooks a few feet away. The rooms were quiet and the breakfast was extensive. It is nice to see several fresh fruits among the choices, and they had long hours (6-10). The staff at the front desk and in the dining area are very friendly and helpful. There are two computers in the business center and a printer is available. We didn't use the free wi-fi. The pool looked clean and airy, with nice long hours (6 am - 11 pm).The hotel is a little hard to find, but that means that it is away from the noisy highways.

The hotel directory emphasizes the "green" efforts of the hotel. Yet, when we got to our room, every light was on, the room was colder than necessary, and, for some reason, the drawers were open. It was disconcerting---we wondered if we had been assigned to an occupied room. I guess this was to look inviting, but it seemed like a waste of energy. One other quibble: the black-out curtains are a little short, so they let more light in the room than I'd like.

Overall, though, this is a wonderful hotel. I noticed from a plaque on the wall it was recognized by Hampton as in their top 10%. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Our team appreciates your great feedback regarding our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and enhance the experience we provide guests. It is feedback like this that helps us succeed in these efforts.
As part of our quality assurance efforts we inspect the cleaned check out rooms every day. The lights on and drawers open are part of the beginning of this process. I apologize that this was not completed before you checked in. I will share this with team so that we can be more careful in the future.
We look forward to having you again soon as our guest!
Take care
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Everything was great nice frontdesk people...........clean room............nice "free" breakfast. The only small complaint I have is that they took my creditcard and preapproved a charge for "just in case" which there were none. One day was 10 dollars and the next was 15 dollars..........what was wrong with one dollar that the gas stations usually charge??? Of course these charges were gone after 72 hours, but it did upset me. BUT other then that it was a very nice hotel............close to major highway and nice restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you so much for the nice comments about breakfast and our rooms. We will strive to be more clear regarding our policy for a credit card to cover possible incidental charges, in the future. I appreciate your feedback about this.
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris

Address: 8411 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Business Hotel in Columbus
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus/Polaris, OH, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Polaris
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.