We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in the Polaris area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8411 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Ape Zoo Package
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great choice in the Polaris area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The check-in was very fast and very cordial. The room was modern and very clean, with an exceptionally handsome bathroom. As is becoming more common in new properties, there was a shower but no tub. The shower floor was textured so that you don't slip. There were plenty of towels, though there was no towel bar by the sink; there were hooks a few feet away. The rooms were quiet and the breakfast was extensive. It is nice to see several fresh fruits among the choices, and they had long hours (6-10). The staff at the front desk and in the dining area are very friendly and helpful. There are two computers in the business center and a printer is available. We didn't use the free wi-fi. The pool looked clean and airy, with nice long hours (6 am - 11 pm).The hotel is a little hard to find, but that means that it is away from the noisy highways.

The hotel directory emphasizes the "green" efforts of the hotel. Yet, when we got to our room, every light was on, the room was colder than necessary, and, for some reason, the drawers were open. It was disconcerting---we wondered if we had been assigned to an occupied room. I guess this was to look inviting, but it seemed like a waste of energy. One other quibble: the black-out curtains are a little short, so they let more light in the room than I'd like.

Overall, though, this is a wonderful hotel. I noticed from a plaque on the wall it was recognized by Hampton as in their top 10%. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Our team appreciates your great feedback regarding our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and enhance the experience we provide guests. It is feedback like this that helps us succeed in these efforts.
As part of our quality assurance efforts we inspect the cleaned check out rooms every day. The lights on and drawers open are part of the beginning of this process. I apologize that this was not completed before you checked in. I will share this with team so that we can be more careful in the future.
We look forward to having you again soon as our guest!
Take care
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    97
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
184
75
30
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Everything was great nice frontdesk people...........clean room............nice "free" breakfast. The only small complaint I have is that they took my creditcard and preapproved a charge for "just in case" which there were none. One day was 10 dollars and the next was 15 dollars..........what was wrong with one dollar that the gas stations usually charge??? Of course these charges were gone after 72 hours, but it did upset me. BUT other then that it was a very nice hotel............close to major highway and nice restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you so much for the nice comments about breakfast and our rooms. We will strive to be more clear regarding our policy for a credit card to cover possible incidental charges, in the future. I appreciate your feedback about this.
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is a wonderful, modern hotel in a great location. The staff is exceptionally friendly. The public areas and rooms are attractively decorated and everything appeared to be sparkling clean. The rooms include all the amenities one could think of. I had a very spacious room that included a sofa and two easy chairs, plus a desk and large flat-screen TV. It also had a kitchenette with a sink, coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator. WiFi is free. The linens and towels were soft, the bed comfortable, and the black-out drapes did their job. My room on the back side of the hotel was amazingly quiet and I would guess that the other rooms would be equally quiet. The breakfast selection was good, but, as is often the case these days, I was annoyed at having to use plastic plates and bowls and paper cups. The main problem with this hotel is figuring out how to get to its parking area. It is located in an office/hotel park with almost hidden entrances from the surrounding main streets. Once inside the park, it's a challenge finding out how to get into the actual parking area for this specific hotel, rather than the adjacent office buildings and hotels. Signage to Hampton Inn & Suites could be improved from the interior roads in this office park. There are a couple of restaurants (Steak and Shake & Polaris Grill) and a McDonald's within walking distance. Otherwise, you will need a car to get to many other restaurants in the area. The hotel offers a room service menu offered by an outside company. I would gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your expencience at our hotel. We appreicate your high ratings regarding cleanliness and decor! I appreciate you posting the directional tips, it is easy to turn a parking lot too soon. Another tip is to look for our signage on the Office of Polaris directional signs as well.
Hope to see you again soon!
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites Polaris for 3 nights. 2 adults and 1 toddler in a "suite" which is really just one big room with a small kitchen in the entryway. I wish this hotel had actual two-room suites; then it would be perfect!
All of the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating in every way possible. Several of them even took a liking to our son, learning his name and always smiling/waving to him. Our room was clean and had no issues. If traveling with small children, however, be aware that the microwave is down at toddler level. My son had the glass plate out of there and broken before I even realized there WAS a microwave. (The staff was very nice about cleaning it up and did not charge us for it.)
There is free wi-fi in the rooms and it was more than acceptable. The code for it is on the envelope your room key comes in so don't discard/misplace that!
The pool area is very clean and enjoyable. The water and air temperature in the pool area is kept quite warm, so it's great if you have little kids who get chilled easily when swimming.
The location is convenient to everything as long as you have a car. While many things are within walking distance, there are not sidewalks to get you there and it's too dangerous. You can get to McD's, Steak n Shake, Skyline, or a restaurant called Polaris Grill on foot if needed though.
The free breakfast was more than adequate: cereal, milk, yogurt, juice, bagels, toast, pastries, fruit, make your own waffles, and a different egg/meat option every day. The quality of the egg and meat options were awful, though, and I never ate more than one bite of any of that!
Overall we had a great stay and I would not hesitate to come back here (unless I could find a similar place for similar cost that actually had 2 BR suites, but that is just because we have a young child who sleeps better if he has his own room!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We appreicate your stay with us! It is a treat to enjoy the kids who are usually excited to stay with us. We know it's all about the pool and pushing the elevator buttons for them. We do have a limited number of adjoinging room options that may work out for you and your family next time. We will look forward to seeing everyone again!
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We chose this hotel for two reasons: the reviews in TripAdvisor and the fact that the hotel manager, Deedee DeCoito, personally replied to each review. We met Deedee, explained the rationale for our choice and complimented her for taking the time to address every issue cited in the reviews. It was apparent that this organization -- led by Deedee -- makes customer satisfaction their highest priority. You can't go wrong by choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
It is really great to see "in person" how our feedback here can help each other! Thank you so much for coming to stay with us. We look forward to having you back!
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed but two nights at the Hampton Inn and Suites Polaris in Columbus, OH and it was wonderful. We had an adjoining room with our daughter and her children which was very useful. The hot breakfast was fantastic and the pool...we'll just say that all the kids spent as much time as they could in it while we were there. The location was great for shopping and very centrally located for the church and hall that was used for the reception.
Overall, I would stay there again in a heartbeat, it was fantastic and the hotel staff was very helpful in every way they could.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
We really appreciate that you took the time to share you feedback! Who doesent love a wedding. We are always honored to host room blocks for friends and families of the bride and groom. I hope you have the chance to come again, Columbus Polaris is a great place to come shop, dine and visit various attractions! Hope to see you soon!
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Overall, the experience was what I expected. This hotel is located within an office complex north of downtown Columbus. It was relatively new, clean, comfortable and quiet. There are plenty of restaurants and services nearby, and a shopping mall down the road. The staff was friendly and polite. The bed was comfortable. The room was spacious (I had a suite) and well appointed for the price point. The gym was very well equipped, brightly lit and pleasant. I would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddecoito, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback. A quality experience is exactly what we strive for. I am so glad we hit the mark during your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Take care,
Deedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
#13 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
0.9 mi away
Cambria Suites
Cambria Suites
#20 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris

Address: 8411 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#6 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus/Polaris, OH, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Polaris
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.