We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pistacia Vera

Pistacia Vera
541 South Third Street, Columbus, OH 43215
(614) 220-9070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2,022 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stopped for a cup of coffee and a sweet treat and what a treat. Cute little place with lots of character and a wonderful macaroons!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    34
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is the real deal when it comes to French pastry. Croissants were perfect, coffee was excellent. They had a few brunch items that they serve daily, Swiss Chard Quiche, Tomato Provencal baked eggs etc.... We got a few Macaroon's to go, there were many unusual flavors to choose from. The flavors were all executed perfectly, however they were missing the thin layer of crunch on the outside that macaroon's usually have, but we attributed this to the very damp weather. These little gems are hard to keep crisp when the weather is the slightest bit damp, I'm sure during a dry spell these are just perfect. Looking forward to going back over the next 4 years while our daughter is at OSU.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

As someone who lived a long time in Europe, I know when someone nails it. They do here. Trouble is, it is addictive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
“Best pastries ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This cafe/patisserie is perfect for a special and yummy treat! I am convinced they have the BEST pastries ever-- I asked for recommendations from the friendly staff and went with pumpkin spice and maple walnut macaroons ($1.75ea), a lemon tart (~$3), & almond bear claw (~$4). Everything tastes so fresh, light/airy, and buttery! I didn't even bother with trying their breakfast food because the desserts/bakery was just too tempting..but I bet their food is amazing too. It is a little pricey for just a pastry, but it's worth it. Must go when in Columbus!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“love love love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

For awhile, we lived in walking distance from this place, and that was dangerous for the waistline. It's a cute little atmosphere, and the almond croissants are to die for. The plain croissants are great too and served with flavorful preserves. The macaroons are supposedly fabulous as well, but I'm not someone who loves macaroons, so I can't comment on that objectively. The coffee is also good, but STRONG, so if you like a weak cup, be prepared to use lots of cream. Unlike some strong coffees though, theirs is not bitter. We've moved out to the suburbs now, but occasionally still drive in for breakfast here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pistacia Vera also viewed

 

Been to Pistacia Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pistacia Vera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.