We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, comfy and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome staff, comfy and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

As many have said about this hotel, the location in a former bank makes it unique. It is also well situation downtown to be convenient to good restaurants, the state house, city hall, and arena. The convention center and Short North is a slightly further walk, but doable. A bus stop is right around the corner on High Street. OSU is a 10-15 minute ride away from there. We had absolutely gorgeous weather during our stay, so Gay street was lively with patio dining. What also makes the stay extra special is the fact that the staff is so friendly and helpful. They really make you feel welcome and looked-after. They will welcome your dog, too. There were doggie treats at the front desk for canine guests. The complimentary breakfast includes hot items, as well as cold cereal, and the like. There is probably something there for everyone, and the breakfast room is well-tended, even on Sunday, so there's no concern about running out of anything. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side overlooking Gay Street over a weekend when they had a street market going on...
See more room tips
Green Features: Breakfast buffet used china and silver during the week, but plastic utensils and Styrofoam on Sunday, so it seems like they are making some efforts in this area.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
CatyD2013,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. It’s fantastic to hear that our excellent staff, clean accommodations, and complimentary breakfast selection reflect our high quality standards. We’re glad you had an opportunity to experience all that our property and location has to offer. Please come back to join us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    70
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
47
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My expectations were not high for a stay at a Residence Inn on a recent short business trip to Columbus. Much to my surprise, the property was not a generic mid-level hotel. The lobby and breakfast area has been retrofitted into the space of an 80+ year old former bank building complete with a soaring ornate plaster coffered ceiling and walls decorated with bas relief pillars, sculptured borders and dentil molding. A glass room in one corner is labeled "Safe Deposit" in large gold antique letters and the breakfast area features the original bank cash vault door. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and called my room 15 minutes after check in to ask if everything was in order. I had a corner room that was very comfortable and roomy with a full sized kitchen, living area, bedroom alcove and adjacent bath. The sink area was separate from the toilet/bath. The hotel is in an excellent location in downtown Columbus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Sharon P,
Thank you for writing a review and reflecting on your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We're pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our unique property, friendly service, and comfortable accommodations. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beautiful room in downtown area. It really is an old bank. Loved the breakfast area in the vault. Quiet area during the weekend due to downtown location. Valet parking was very easy and useful and they were quick and always friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Beth Anne S,
We appreciate hearing from you and thank you for writing a review from your stay. It's wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on our beautiful rooms, as well as the efficient and friendly service you received from our staff. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are Marriott platinum members so have stayed at quite a number of Marriott properties. This one is one of my favorites. It has a beautiful lobby with interesting detailing, since it used to be a bank. The breakfast is served in the old vault! The rooms are standard for Marriott. The front desk staff was exceptionally accommodating. We asked for an upgrade to a 2 bedroom, which they initially said they could not give us because a business group had blocked out all the 2 bedrooms. But the manager then called us back and said they had given the group 2 1 bedrooms instead so they could help us out. The location is really lovely for an extended stay for a family, walking distance to the Columbus children's museum, the riverfront park and the Columbus commons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
jypsum,
It's great to hear from you! Thank you for your review and loyalty to our brand. We're happy to hear our hotel is one of your favorites and we're pleased to know you we consistently deliver exceptional service. We look forward to your next visit at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown and thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I've been a platinum member for many years. I was planning to stay at this residence inn and had a business associate - as I will frequently do is request an upgrade to a 2 bdrm as the upgrade is automatic based upon availability. While there were plenty of 2 bedrooms available the front desk associate apparently had no idea how to do an upgrade, appeared confused, and after 20 minutes of sitting around claimed his computer wouldn't let him do anything about it without charging more. I was appalled at the level of unprofessionalism and overall lack of understanding. The rooms are gross, old, and the front desk agent certainly doesn't help this review either.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
werldtravelr,
Thank you for writing. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we regret any inconveniences you experienced. We value your loyalty to our brand and do hope to speak with you directly regarding the issues you encountered as this level of service is not typical of our staff. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while passing through, so to be fair, I may have missed the benefits of its downtown charm. The hotel is in a unique building and the lobby is nice. However, the room felt cramped and a bit shabby. The armchair was threadbare and the "leather" was completely worn off the arms. The stovetop was a tiny two-burner countertop stove. It was ok, but not nearly as nice as other Residence Inns I have stayed in. On a positive note, the staff was friendly and the rooms had personalized Midwest accents. But overall, the room seemed small and dated. I wouldn't stay here again unless at a huge discount. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
ArkansasTraveler01,
Thank you for writing a review and acknowledging our friendly staff even though you did not find our accommodations to meet your expectations. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially about areas where we can improve. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent our anniversary evening at the Columbus downtown Residence Inn on Feb. 8. What a gorgeous lobby in the restored Buckeye Federal Bank Building on Gay Street in the heart of downtown Columbus. Our generous suite included a fully-equipped modern kitchen, large bathroom with private vanity area, comfortable seating and a very luxurious King sized bed. Jasime, the bartender/hostess on the mezzanine bar was warm and welcoming. The bar overlooks an empty area that used to be the bank teller area --- it's prime space for a restaurant someday, but it didn't detract from the gorgeous high ceiling, historic pillars. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast the next morning, which is set up in the bank vault, complete with the vault door as the entry. Great place for a get-away weekend, or for business in Columbus -- has a conference room with A/V and other amenities. We live in Columbus, but we'll do this again as a treat!

Room Tip: We happened to have a corner room, which was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Jane S,
We're happy to have been a part of your anniversary celebration, and thank you for writing a review from your stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding the charm of our historic building, as well as the comfort and excellent service you experienced. I will be certain to recognize Jasime with a special commendation for her warm hospitality. Thank you again for choosing Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#31 Family Hotel in Columbus
#35 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.