We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated hotel in an old building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nicely updated hotel in an old building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business. Decent downtown location. The building appears to be a converted bank (the breakfast buffet is in the vault) and the suites are all nicely updated. My room had a seperate living room with a work desk and a kitchen. There was a TV in the living room and in the bedroom which was quite nice. Bathroom was clean with a nice shower that had multiple shower heads.

Free hot breakfast buffet included a waffle maker, but the one short coming was a lack of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Tim C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We appreciate you choosing our hotel while on business. I’m happy to know our guest rooms met your expectations and I appreciate your feedback on the breakfast selections. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll visit us again soon!


Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
40
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and found the front desk very attentive to our groups needs providing grab and go breakfasts when necessary and a great buffet when time allowed. The room Ii had was super spacious and quiet and had a tv that turned 180 degrees for viewing from the couch or bed. There was a desk in addition to a dining table. The lobby is gorgeous although there is a,large unfinished space that is viewable from the front door and lobby bar which overlooks the I utilized area. No doubt in a better economy this would be a great restaurant venue. There was a Subway and delicious brownie bakery across the street for convenient meals and treats. Overall the staff and service were outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
SuperMommyJen5,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us while attending your conference. I'm pleased to know our staff was attentive to your group's needs and that our location accommodated your busy conference schedules by offering convenient options for meals and treats. We hope you'll visit us again soon! Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent a Friday night recently. Valet was busy but did get to our car quickly and was always fast in bringing it back so we could travel. The check-in was quick and the building is very unique in the lobby area because of the conversion from a bank to the hotel. Our room was nice except for some barking dogs other guest had in their room. A few more pillows and towels to accommodate four of us would have been helpful. Breakfast had many different choices and is set in the old vault. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the parking attendants, the quick, friendly check -in and convenient location this hotel gets five stars! Our suite was sparkling and had all the ammenities with a kitchenette ( only 4 coffee cups supplied so be sure to ask for more if needed ) and a great view from the 10th floor. The beds and pillows were ultra comfy. The full Continental breakfast was impressive with lots of healthy choices. The breakfast room was originally the vault in this historic bank building which adds to the charm. Parking in this area is challenging, so it was nice to have valet parking at only $20.00 per night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Diane409,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We appreciate you staying with us. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed our property, friendly staff, and delicious complimentary breakfast. We appreciate you letting other viewers know of our special hotel. Please come and visit us again the next time you're in Columbus. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here recently during a trip to Columbus and were very pleased. We requested a higher floor and were pleased to find at check-in that we were on the 15th floor with a decent view of the city. Parking was easy as valet service was offered and there was a parking lot and meters on the same block. The room was very spacious and clean with a full kitchen and sitting area. The location was great as we were able to walk to restaurants, bars, the Short North area and the LC Pavilion for a concert; everything seemed to be within a 15-20 minute walk including the arena and convention center. The hotel building is an old federal bank and though there is a significant amount of space seemingly unused on the main floor, it is very cool to look at the old architecture and marble throughout. The complimentary breakfast set up in the old vault was excellent as it included cold as well as hot items for breakfast. The bar/lounge was also a nice surprise complete with flat screen TVs, recliners and a very friendly bartender. We will definitely be staying here again when we return to Columbus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Jen C,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your recent stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location to be perfect for visiting downtown Columbus. We appreciate your kind comments, and we hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chose this hotel based on it's location to where I was working this past week. It is right downtown Columbus. Check in was quick and easy. As is noted, the hotel is an old bank. I stayed on the 14th floor. The rooms are nicely updated with new furniture, flat screen TVs in both the sitting room and bedroom. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was outstanding. Plenty of hot food as well as cerel, bagels, toast, coffee and juices.The one draw back to this hotel, and should be expected due to its location, is the lack of parking on hotel property. I just wasn't thrilled with leaving my vehicle parked in a public, downtown, parking lot ($15 per night). Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
james5171,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we're glad you had a nice visit. I'm pleased to know that you liked our property, suites, and great breakfast. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this location while in Columbus. The rooms were well furnished and clean and the location itself was amazing. The fact that this is an old bank building made it a fascinating place to stay and to wonder around the grand lobby and lounge area. The full continental breakfast, which interestingly enough is served in the old vault was well laid out and had a good selection of items.
What I found the best about this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. Everyone from the front desk personnel to the car valets were super nice! If you're looking for a place to stay in downtown Columbus, that has a ton of character, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
MANUEL G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We believe we have a ton of character too! I'm glad you liked our unique hotel, and I hope you'll return for another exceptional visit.
Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#15 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Marriott, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;