We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Marriott Idea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Great Marriott Idea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The person at Marriott who came up with the concept of turning wonderful old downtown bank buildings into hotels should be promoted, with a nice raise. This is the second time in a month I've stayed at one of these converted hotels. Both experiences were excellent (the other one was the SpringHill Suites in downtown Baltimore). The lobby here is charming. The old vault has been cleverly turned into the eating area (the breakfast food, by the way, was fresh, varied and tasty). The rooms are just great, with everything you expect in a Residence Inn suite along with some decorating touches and the nice, high-floor views you DON'T get at a boilerplate RI hotel off of an interstate highway. This particular hotel has some cool restaurants near it. And the Cafe Brioso coffee shop a few doors down is a can't miss morning stop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
bagnato1,
Thank you for your kind review. It's always nice to hear excitement from our guests about our uniquely designed hotel and wonderful decor. We're glad you liked our property and hope you will return for another great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    63
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
43
16
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a grand historic building and renovated rooms which is not always the case. The rooms were tastefully decorated, my room had a view of the city which was enjoyable. The kitchenette was a big plus. The breakfast was included and it had everything you want from a buffet breakfast. I liked that the internet was free and the business room was accessible. I liked the lobby with a big screen. The biggest asset this property had the staff. Especially the front desk people were very helpful. I had a flat tire in front of the hotel, the valet people were especially helpful. The beds were very comfortable. I also liked the location, it was across a very nice Italian restaurant and a diner/bar open till 2:00 AM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Sibelcay,

It's great to hear from you. We appreciate your kind review about your stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown. I'm glad you enjoyed our great hotel and found your suite to be spacious and comfortable. I'm pleased to know our staff was friendly as well as helpful with your flat tire. We hope you enjoyed our downtown area and found our city to be a great place to visit. Please plan to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for a week on business. Overall, nice hotel with clean, large rooms and decent beds. The breakfast was above average for a buffet. Interesting property as it used to be a bank (breakfast served in an vault). Great location with many food options within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Andrea J,
Thank you for your review and letting us know of your pleasant stay with us at Residence Inn Columbus. We're glad you liked our hotel and had a comfortable visit. I'm pleased you found us to be a great location too! Please plan to stay with us again the next time you visit Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land of Pleasant Living
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a beautiful, historic property with an unbeatable staff. It has clean, comfortable rooms and a solid breakfast offering. The location is great too, close enough to the activity of the Arena District, Short North and the University but far enough away to avoid the downsides of those busy areas. The staff was gracious enough to let us use the breakfast area to host an impromptu pizza party for my niece and her friends from OSU. Truly a gem. I will not stay in any other hotel in Columbus (and I have stayed in 3 others in the immediate area)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
cz75guy,
Thank you for your kind review. We're very glad to have had you as our guest, and pleased you enjoyed your visit. I'm thankful for your compliments about our staff, and happy to know they were helpful in providing a place for your pizza party. We welcome you to come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wow, what a nice room. Everything you can ask for: equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom, convenient bed reading lights, plenty of space for guests. The wireless internet speed was pretty good. The breakfast buffet was above average. Silverware and ceramic dishes much nicer than styrofoam dishes and plastic utensils. Red potatoes, eggs, toast, belgian waffles, fresh cantaloupe. The hotel is in a former bank and the door to enter the breakfast room is the safe door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
budgetfreak,
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms spacious and comfortable. I'm glad you liked our breakfast buffet, especially the fresh items and wide variety. We welcome you to visit us for another great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viriginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I make an annual girls weekend to Columbus from Virginia for the Country Living Fair. This hotel is and has been our first and only choice. It's an amazing reuse of historic architecture done right. The rooms are large, clean and nicely appointed. The staff has always been over the top friendly. Most things are within walking distance including wonderful walking trails along the river.

As for dining. Our first night we always eat a Tip Top which right across the street. Excellent. Try the pot roast sandwich and the feta dip. Then for the remaining nights its Martini's for Italian and either Mitchell's or Hyde Park for a steakhouse.

You won't be disappointed by selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
KChristner,

Thank you for your delightful review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We’re pleased you chose to stay with us for your girl’s weekend in Columbus. I’m glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable. It’s nice to know you enjoyed our friendly staff as well. The restaurants you mentioned are excellent, my favorite at the Tip Top are the fried green beans. Make sure you try them next time! Please come and stay with us again the next time you visit Columbus, Ohio.

Safe travels,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A beautiful hotel in a building that was originally a bank. They redesigned it very effectively and the furnishings are very cool. The breakfast bar is in what used to be the vault and the vault door is still the way in. Very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Deborah B,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We’re glad you liked our special design and found a comfortable place to stay. I’m pleased to know our staff was friendly and accommodating for you as well. We welcome you back on your next trip to Columbus, Ohio.

Sincerely,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#18 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.