We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steaks, but definitely a destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse

Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse
569 N High St, The Cap at Union Station, Columbus, OH 43215
(614) 224-2204
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,972 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Columbus, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks, but definitely a destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I ate here on New Year's Eve before going to a concert. The service was outstanding, as were our steaks and side dishes. Adam, our waiter, really knew his menu. But this is a very expensive place to eat (OK, expensive by Columbus standards as opposed to Chicago or NYC) and serve our needs best as a destination for special events. Also, with all the adoration of sports in Columbus (especially Saint OSU), do we really need an otherwise first rate restaurant that names its steaks after sports stars?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went to dinner for our first anniversary and I decided to have the dry aged new york strip since it was a special night. The service was good and the atmosphere was excellent. The steak was done to perfection (medium rare) but it did not have the full flavor that I expect from a dry aged steak. It also had a lot of bone and gristle which made my dog very happy but left me wanting more. My wife had the steak Tressel which she enjoyed so she made the better choice (again). Our bill was over $200 and I feel that I could have had a better meal elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, a bit pretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Place still packed when we arrived at 930 on a Thursday night. Waiter was charming and informed, but service--especially for drinks--very slow. Solid steakhouse food. Very noisy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bar happy hour drinks tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Bar scene slow paced but fresh cocktails. Bartenders super attentive and never had an empty glass. Keep in mind it is a wine bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Service at bar area subpar, food as well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The bar area, Eleven, is a cozy bar where my husband and I thought we would pop in for some tapas and a cocktail on a Wednesday night. There were three open booths in the bar area and the place was not busy. We asked if we could have a booth and they said no because it was for dinner only. Understanding there may be reservations, no problem. No one ever came to those tables. The service was slow and she acted as if we were an inconvenience. My cocktail arrived half full, but I get it sometimes things like that happen. I wanted to order another cocktail, but by the time she checked back in, the moment was gone. The food was okay, nothing special except for the chocolate lava cake. That dessert almost made the evening worth it! I will note the valet guys were great. Very enjoyable and good natured. When one thing after another happens, it makes for a 3-star visit and a place that I would not visit again. Maybe it was just a bad night...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.