We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Schopf House Bed and Breakfast

The Schopf House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schopf House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Schopf House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
132 Oakland Park Ave., Columbus, OH 43214   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's like home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This little B&B was the perfect place for me to stay while I was tending to my family in a nearby hospital. It is a quaint ilttle house with 3 bedrooms and is near everything I needed (Kroger, Panera, and other restaurants down the street). The owners (an older couple) are really friendly and the neighborhood is safe. Three hospitals are just a short distance away, so if you're a resident doing a rotation or a family wanting to stay a year for two, this is a place to consider.

The house is older (1920's) but updated nicely. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The back porch was quiet and relaxing... everything you need to feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Sc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

A charming house located in the center of Clintonville. My wife, son and I enjoyed our stay during this house hunting trip. It was our first visit to Ohio. The smell of the roses surrounding the front porch was a pleasant surprise. It was so relaxing just swinging on the sofa bench on the front porch. The inside of the house was cozy. Both beds were comfortable in this two bedroom house (they are in process of finishing off a loft bedroom). Breakfast was wonderful. We had zuccini and onion egg pie one morning which was yummy. The best part was speaking with the owners. Lari and her husband were great hosts, interesting folks and answering all of our questions. They had a wealth of knowledge about Clintonville and Columbus. Did I mention it was less expensive than any hotel around. If looking for a hotel in Clintonville, give up - we could not find one and did not want to stay in Columbus. So great location for business or pleasure in Clintonville.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaeltwofish
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Schopf House was absolutely perfect for us for our stay in Columbus.

Our host, Lari, was friendly and welcoming, with a wealth of knowledge about things to see and do in Columbus that she's eager to share. Breakfast was vegetarian on our request, and was a good start to each day.

It's a short walk to Clintonville shops (some of which are quite groovy) and a bus ride to Short North and Downtown. We'd recommend it to anyone looking for short term home in Columbus.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We thoroughly loved our experience at the Schopf House B&B. This is a two bedroom, one bath home and the innkeeper, Lori, lives next door. As the only guests we had the house to ourselves. The neighborhood is great, right up the street from the Clintonville shops. The interior is comfortable and homely, but not fancy or luxurious. The same goes for the breakfast, except the fresh berries which you'd have to consider a treat.

All in all, The Shopf House is a great value for a clean, quiet, safe and enjoyable stay on the north side of Columbus.

  • Liked — We were very comfortable here and felt right at home.
  • Disliked — The website doesn't have very much information and we weren't sure what we were getting into.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Schopf House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schopf House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 132 Oakland Park Ave., Columbus, OH 43214
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
The Schopf House Bed And Breakfast Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Schopf House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.