We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty sad, but I'd stay here again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   650 South High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #75 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty sad, but I'd stay here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We had one night in Columbus. My husband had business there so I used the opportunity to explore an area I was unfamiliar with and booked one night at this hotel after doing some online research on Columbus. The rate was terrific (under $90). Parking is free and plentiful. The room, although clean, was tired. My only complaint was that the sheets were extraordinarily thin and slipped off the mattress easily. There is no luxury here.
However, the people who work here couldn't have been nicer. (This seems to be true of everyone I met in Ohio.) And the area near the hotel is wonderful. The Best Western Clarmont sits at the edge of the German Village section of Columbus. This neighborhood is a beautiful area to walk around and explore. It reminded me of Beacon Hill (we're from Boston), although flat. It was setlled in the mid-1800's by Germans who built darling, tasteful brick homes along cobblestone streets. The area is beautifully maintained. There are unique shops here and good restaurants. We wandered into Lindey's after passing by a few other choices, had a drink at their magnificent bar, and decided to eat outside in their elegant garden. There was an undeniable buzz at this place, definitely the place to be in COlumbus. At the table next to us was a grande dame who literally seemed to know everyone in town. No one left Lindey's without stopping by her table. (Who was that woman?) The food was good, the experience was wonderful.
After dinner we walked back to our hotel and had one more drink (ok we had a lot to drink that night, but at least we were on foot) at the Round Bar at the Best Western. This a lively bar which attracts a lot of locals - another plus for the BW. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning, but there is a great breakfast place 3 blocks down the street.

  • Liked — Neighbohood
  • Disliked — Sheets
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
im glad to hear that you were satisfied with our establishment and can assure you that your next stay will be your best thank you for your business and have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    25
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
24
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

A group of friends travelled to Columbus to see Renoir's Women at Art Gallery. Clarmont was great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location is wonderful, just steps away from German Village and a few blocks from downtown Columbus. Rooms very large and clean and affordable! We're staying there again in June '06.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
im glad to hear that you were satisfied with our establishment and can assure you that your next stay will be your best thank you for your business and have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

The location was great, the staff friendly, and good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
im glad to hear that you were satisfied with our establishment and can assure you that your next stay will be your best thank you for your business and have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron Ohio
2 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

We just returned from a 2 night stay in German Village area...and I will say that I was quite pleased with the hotel...it was VERY clean..The Staff were very attentive to our needs and very friendly....we found that all of the people in German Village were very friendly ..which was a nice change :)

The Pool which was heated was also very inviting..it seems not too many people use the pool because we were the only ones that used it (to my knowledge) while we were there. We had a first floor room which had a door that led us straight to the pool from the outside which was very nice. We did not have a suite so we did not have a fridge or microwave which would've been nice but that would've been almost $30 extra per night which for the 2 nights wasn't worth it for us. The hotel is very conviently located in German village and is a nice walk around to the different shops and they have some nice Restaurants. If you are interested in going to German Village and are looking for good German food the best we found was at a Restaurant called "Mannechor" which is just down the road on High St...excellent food and desserts...if you go check the papers that they have available in the lobby of the hotel you may find (like we did) a $10 coupon when you purchase 2 dinner entrees which makes it more affordable. German village itself is quaint and the houses are really cute..the history is interesting but I was disappointed in some of the shops..I was expecting a bit more but every shop owner was extremely friendly and some offered us bottled water FREE when we walked into their shop. All in all don't go for the shopping..it's just a nice quick inexpensive get away.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
im glad to hear that you were satisfied with our establishment and can assure you that your next stay will be your best thank you for your business and have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

Another case where I wish there were 3.5 stars!
Staff are very knowledgeable and efficient. Rooms (I did not get a suite) are spacious and comfortable, etc.
German Village is a nice area; not-so-nice area if one wanders several blocks behind the hotel, but nothing to be concerned about. I did not dine in the hotel restaurant as there are several nice places within a 5 min walk. I had no car; if you do and are interested in seeing things near downtown, get a $3 day pass on the bus (Route 16 north stops right in front of the hotel, running along High Street to downtown, with southbound stop across the street by the gas station).
There is no breakfast - you're on your own. A couple of blocks down the street (other side) there's a bagel place and a McDonald's (hotel side).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
im glad to hear that you were satisfied with our establishment and can assure you that your next stay will be your best thank you for your business and have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2004

Am writing because I could find no other guest reviews, just Fodors and Washington Post. We did not know quite what to expect, because BW Clarmont is not in the AAA Ohio Tourbook. So we did seriously consider elsewhere but now are glad we stayed at the Clarmont. It was very nice, remodeled and clean. Good bathroom. We had one of the "suite" rooms with microwave and fridge, which was nice. Actually, all rooms are the same size, but the suite ones have a sitting area with foldout couch instead of a second queen bed. We were concerned about the area, but it was OK, and the German Village, just adjacent, was quaint and interesting. Also, breakfast at the adjacent Clarmont restaurant is very good and reasonably priced (tho' dinner meals are expensive and a la carte). All in all, it was a very good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
im glad to hear that you were satisfied with our establishment and can assure you that your next stay will be your best thank you for your business and have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 650 South High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel has been remodeled in the last 12 months. Located downtown Columbus. Free Breakfast, Wi-Fi, Seasonal Pool, fitness center and Parking which its hard to find downtown. We are surrounded by 17 different restaurants and pubs all in walking distance and located in German Village. All rooms come with Micro-Fridge and Either a King size bed with pull out couch or two queen size beds. We are 1 mile away from the Nation Wide Arena, 1 1/2 from the Greater Columbus Convention Center, 1/2 mile from the Lou Berliner Park and 10 Min away from Ohio State University and the fairgrounds. Hope you become our future guest. Thanks for your time and have a great day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Columbus
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Columbus
Best Western Columbus
Columbus Best Western
Comfort Inn & Suites Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.