We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Village Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added German Village Guest House to your Saves list
German Village Guest House
748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Great service, beautiful rooms, ideal (quiet) neighborhood for our trip. I would stay there again in a heartbeat, and I have already recommended it to a friend. We were attending events at the convention center so we were not close enough to be in the hustle and bustle of other convention go-ers and the nightlife (good for us). We had to get a cab ($7-8 each trip and around 10 minutes to the convention center or a 20 min walk). But the cabs were implausibly quick--like I couldn't get my coat on in time before they arrived...!

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
89
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Great stay! Loved the privacy and all the amenities that GVGH had to offer. My husband and I were celebrating our birthdays, Valentines day and our anniversary all in one. We couldn't have picked a better spot. We had the whole house to ourselves, since no one else had booked a room. The morning breakfast was perfect! Would definitely stay again for a getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Very nice, clean guest house in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The guesthouse is fabulously clean,very well appointed. It is located in the heart of German Village, a very cool historic neighborhood. Our every need was anticipated. This guesthouse is the top of my list!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed at the Guesthouse after being stranded by weather in Philadelphia. John couldn't have been nicer and went out of his way to make me feel welcomed. Access to endless supplies of water, hot tea and light snacks made me feel right at home, my room felt like my own bedroom, and the breakfast being right downstairs was perfect. Next time I stay I will take advantage of the grocery store literally a half block away and the ability to cook myself a healthy dinner rather than eating out! If eating out is more your style, there are plenty of restaurant options within a few blocks. I found a yoga studio a 5 minute drive away too. If you travel here in cooler weather, bring your cold runnign gear for the park around the corner. This place is a great way to feel at home when y ou are away. Thank you John!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Exquisite accommodations with charming elegance; they add nice little touches that make it unique, like the fresh breakfast spread and fresh flowers. We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to visit again! The location could be better; make sure you remove any valuables from your car or that they're well hidden to avoid your car being tampered with.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I had several memorable trips to the German Village in Columbus, OH when I was young, and this stay trumped them all. Needing a last minute anniversary gift, I found the German Village Guesthouse online and booked our stay, crossing my fingers that the positive reviews would hold up.

Needless to say, we had a great weekend. There are so many great restaurants within walking distance, and the brick-lined streets and charming neighborhood just completed the stay.

Highly recommended - and if you don't eat the banana-nut bread at morning breakfast, you'll be sorry!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your German Village Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Village Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.