We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Village Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added German Village Guest House to your Saves list
German Village Guest House
748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I usually stay in one of the big chain hotels (Hyatt, Marriott, Hilton, etc.) on business trips but this was the first time I tried a B&B and was there for 3 nights. What a difference! I actually felt like I was at home; I slept better, felt less stress, and got in some good exercise while walking to the outstanding restaurants and Schiller park nearby. Not only will I definitely stay here again when back in Columbus, but i'm inspired to look at other B&B's for business travel.

Room Tip: I recommend the room on the first floor off the kitchen. I don't know about the other rooms, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
86
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

GVGH was a great place to spend two nights! The room was just like the write up said...very clean, modern, great bathroom complete with rubber ducky and bathrobes! The deck in the back garden was an awesome place to relax in the evening and eat breakfast in the mornings. The garden is beautiful. We did not use the outdoor or indoor fireplace but it was great that they were there (complete with instructions on using them) and available to enjoy. Breakfast was yummy with fresh fruit, banana bread, blueberry muffins and pretty much anything else you could want! We both it agreed that it was well worth the cost. We would definitely consider staying her again.

Room Tip: The suite definitely has the garden view but the street view is also nice! Both of these are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a peaceful stay..we felt like family...so clean and pretty. The breakfasts were amazing and so many nice amenities. Lovely garden and friendly hosts. We plan to come in the fall again!

Deb and Tim Young

Room Tip: any would be a great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our fourth consecutive experience at this B&B and, par for the course they did NOT disappoint! Such elegance and beauty awaits in the deservedly top-ranked bed and breakfast. The atmosphere is modern yet enchanting. The linens are luxuriously inviting. The kitchen was stocked with delicious fresh fruit and a new touch - homemade yogurt! And need I say more about the shower?! The massive shower head and beautifully tiled shower add a sensual appeal to honeymooners or those, like us, looking for a romantic anniversary getaway! The proprietors even threw in a celebratory bottle of champagne and fresh strawberries upon our arrival! This establishment is absolutely perfect and no detail is missed in this experience. The German Village is the perfect neighborhood in which to nestle this gem of a getaway. We are already looking forward to returning next May the 27th! 2015 HERE WE COME!

Room Tip: We've stayed in one other room besides the Whittier Suite but for a romantic getaway we wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a very nice 4 night stay here in the Whittier Suite. We had a great time and would stay again.

The bed was amazing, one of the most comfortable ever. Very nice and stylish one bedroom. Also appreciated the generous breakfast items and snacks. We enjoyed staying in the German Village area.

Guests who want a true independent experience will thoroughly enjoy this set up.

Two suggestions: I left the guest house without having ever spoken with a staff member before, during or after our stay. Except once, when I called the number on the reservation, as we were having difficulty accessing the unit. It would have been nice to have had a quick call asking if everything was ok or if we needed anything,

Also, the suites are located in another building on another street. While it plainly states this on the reservation sheet, I am sure we were not the only guest to be confused.

As mentioned above, a few simple changes and this place is a 5.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Love, love, love this place. Very clean rooms. All modern conveniences. Although the house was full, I never saw a soul. We easily walked to Nationwide Arena downtown. Lots of little shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Attention to every detail made our stay at German Village Guest House perfect. The location in historic German Village is unique, the garden is a hidden gem, and the home itself is tastefully decorated. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your German Village Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Village Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.