We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Trip Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Village Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Save
You added German Village Guest House to your Saves list
748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $50 any two weekdays
Ranked #1 of 21 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Phenomenal Trip Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I had stayed at this property a year before we got married for a weekend away and absolutely fell in love with the area, the property and the experience at the German Village Guest House! This year, as a celebration of our wedding weekend, we returned to the Guest House exactly ONE YEAR TO THE DATE of our first visit. We've had the privilege of staying at both the Whittier Suite and the Guest House and loved our experiences at both! The cookies awaiting us were delicious and the atmosphere is amazing. There is a local restaurant, Lindey's, which is awesome as well and we've gone back several times to that place! Overall just a magical experience and we will certainly be making this a tradition!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
111
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Guest House for our wedding night, and we could not have been treated better. The house was cozy and friendly, and our breakfast was amazing (hint: Try the coffee cake!). German Village is a neat neighborhood with lots of great shopping and food (Schmidt's was our favorite place to eat). We highly, highly recommend the German Village Guest House to anyone looking for a romantic place to stay or simply touring the area and wanting to avoid the hustle and bustle of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in the Whittier Suite 2, which was gorgeously decorated, spacious, and very comfy. We loved the beautiful and fully stocked kitchen and were delighted by the fresh iced tea and baked goods waiting for us on arrival. It felt like a very fashionable home away from home, just a moment's walk from Barcelona, Schiller Park, & Jeni's Ice Cream. We look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at GVGH! Although it was a bit more than we normally like to spend on a hotel room, even my husband who travels frequently for work was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. We would stay there again in a heartbeat! A great facility in a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, right off the common living space. At first, I wasn't sure about being so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

It was Clean and I loved that we had water tea and coffee anytime we wanted. The shower was hot and the towels plush. We also walked to a very nice resturant and ate outside. The queen bed was too small for us though and we are not large people so I didnt get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGuestHouse, Owner at German Village Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Room 1 in the Guest House features the popular Tate Bed from the Crate & Barrel catalog. It is the standard North American Queen Bed size of 60 x 80 inches, fitted with an ultra-premuim mattress and linens. We emphasize in our communications and confirmations that this is a Room with a Queen-sized bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have very little to add to prior TA accolades except that the owner was extremely helpful in getting my daughter and me a day pass to a nearby gym and in providing directions for a lovely walk all over German Village. As others have noted, the Barcelona made wonderful tapas, and we ordered several as take-out which we ate outside on the little deck of the GVGH....the kitchen was well equipped with dishes, etc. We loved our second floor room and only wish the stay had been longer. We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

What the title says. GVGH. Is gorgeous and well kept. The place was clean and very inviting.
We went for my wife's 30th birthday and enjoyed our weekend at our very first B&B.

Thank you for the memories.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.5 mi away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#102 of 143 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#76 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Village Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.