We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service can't be beat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8535 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
MCB0607
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Service can't be beat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

A group of girlfriends and their dates stayed at this hotel before our friend's wedding in Westerville. The bride had arranged for a shuttle to take us from the reception back to the hotel, but did not arrange for a shuttle to the reception in the first place, which would require everyone taking the shuttle to leave their cars at the reception, which was a good 15 minutes away. The hotel graciously provided a shuttle to the reception upon becoming aware of the problem. The hotel staff and shuttle driver went far, far beyond the call of duty in doing everything necesary to make sure we had a good stay. Nice, clean hotel, wonderful staff.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    83
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
62
58
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I've stayed here a few times over the last 6 months and each time has been the same. . .Excellent! The staff and service is fabulous. The rooms are a good size, though I'm not crazy about the bed. The free internet is great and the speed is decent.

The breakfast is great as well, fresh and tasty with great service.

The location is also fantastic as there are tons of restaurants and stores in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed here on our way back home for the holidays. We stayed for one night and it was free because we have Hilton Honors points. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted at the reception desk and were upgraded to a room with a whirlpool. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient.

Our room was very nicely sized with a king size bed, sofa and desk. The whirlpool room was excellent and the tub was awesome. The bathroom was a normal size and could have been slightly bigger. The bed seemed to be a more stiff than most Hilton hotels but it was still comfortable.

I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends who travel to see us and we will stay here again.

  • Liked — The service was great, accomodations updated, and location good for travelers.
  • Disliked — Bed was quite stiff.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

As a Hilton Diamond member, I stay at a lot of Hilton Garden Inns. This one is the best I have ever stayed in. It is a very new HGI. Rooms were very clean and in excellent shape. I made a special request of housekeeping, which they honored every day without fail. The hotel staff was the freindliest I have encountered. This hotel goes the extra mile with not only cookies and coffee in the evening (typical of HGI), but also hot hors d'ouevres (buffalo wings) as well. The breakfast staff were excellent and accommodating. Food selections and quality were better than normal for breakfast. There are alot of good restaraunts and stores in the area as well. This is an excellent hotel in an excellent part of town. Only minor complaint, they used the cheapest, narrow toilet paper I have seen. Also, beware, there is a regular Hilton across Polaris Blvd. that looks like the HGI and I got confused on first day and went to the wrong one.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

This is a great Hotel. The hotel staff was the freindliest I have ever seen. They really made you feel welcome at the front desk every time you walked by to go to your room. This hotel goes the extra mile to add little extras and upgrades to the rooms. There was a restaurant and a bar but it closed to early for us to use it. There are alot of restaraunts and stores in the area which is noce but there is alot of traffic.

  • Liked — freindly staff
  • Disliked — traffic at highway exit
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

The location just North of Columbus (Polaris Parkway ) puts you within easy reach (15 minutes) of area activities & eating venues without the lack of parking & pricy rates experienced in the downtown area, & the room rate was very reasonable.

Our daughter had to have surgery the next day in Columbus & the staff was outstanding in seeing to our every need.

The hotel was immaculate, The bathroom was on the smaller side,but spotless, The room, refrigerator & microwave were in excellent shape & squeeky clean. The indoor pool & sauna area were also first rate.

We highly recommend the hotel & we'll stay there again in the future (hopefully for recreation next time).

The staff definitely gets "two thumbs up- They rock"!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

This is a Hilton Garden Inn that has been open for about 1 year, perhaps a little more. We used to live near this hotel, and chose to stay here while visiting family/friends over the holidays.

The location is excellent if you're working near Polaris, or traveling on I-71, since it's right off of the interstate. It's also excellent for a shopping trip to the Polaris area. It's in a safe area that backs up to a newer housing development with really nice, single-family homes.

It's your standard Hilton Garden Inn. It's clean and predictable, with professionally trained, friendly staff. There's a full service restaurant and bar in the hotel, although breakfast can be had at other nearby locations for less money (I didn't have breakfast here, so I can't comment on the quality of it). There's also free wi-fi in the rooms, and many (if not all) of the rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges.

The location is really what stands out. There are multiple decent chain restaurants (Carrabbaa's, Wendy's, Texas Longhorn, Quaker Steak and Lube) within walking distance. You can also, a little further of a walk, though, walk to a Target, gas station, and Magic Mountain, a mini-golf/go-carts/pinball games kind of place. [This is important if you're considering staying here for work and share a car with other people...you don't have to always eat/go with people that you work with! LOL]

Polaris Parkway itself contains every retail option imaginable: a large, upscale regional mall (right across Polaris Parkway from the HGI- Polaris). There are fine/upscale dining options, as well as fast food and your typical chain restaurants. Also, there's a movie theater, grocery store (Krogers), variety of smaller restaurants, etc. You name it...it's there.

Parking is free. It's near the freeway, but the noise really isn't substantial (i.e., I couldn't hear it from the room, but in all fairness, it could present an issue).

I'd pick this place again.

  • Liked — Predictable quality standards, safe, and good location. It was a good value for the money.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris

Address: 8535 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#17 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#17 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hilton Garden Inn Polaris
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.