We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8535 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #18 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Pittsburgh, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

There is simply not one bad thing to say about this hotel. The room, the lobby, the location, the staff. All fantastic! I didn't eat in the on-site restaurant, so I can't speak for that, the rest of the hotel was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are so appreciate of you taking the time for this wonderful review. We get so many comments about our great staff beautiful lobby and great service. It is nice to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    81
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
61
58
15
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn was a no brainer choice for us as our room block for our wedding weekend. They were the only hotel that I spoke with who even acknowledged that we were getting married. They gave us a special rate for our guests which included breakfast, there was a complimentary shuttle, and my husband and I received a complimentary suite with a whirlpool and chocolate covered strawberries and champagne! The staff was incredible. The bar stays open late to accommodate all guests. The room was very clean and comfortable. I definitely recommend to any bride to be! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review and sharing your experience. We are so happy the your wedding was such a success. We pride ourselves on our service and appreciate the feedback. Weddings love hosting wedding groups. As you mentioned we have it all and are the best value. Clean rooms, romance package with whirlpool room, breakfast and a place to gather for a few drinks after the big event.

We wish you all the best in the future and hope to see you on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Was impressed with the appearance of the hotel and room, but the king mattress in our room was painfully firm. I don't have any health issues or problems with a firm mattress normally, but this one hurt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate and value you sharing your experience. I do apologize for the firmness of your bed. They do have adjustments and perhaps they were not working correctly. Thanks to your comments we were able to have the issue corrected for the next guests. We also appreciate your comments on our cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff loves to hear that.

We look forward to you staying with us the next time in Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus-Polaris, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel is relatively small but has spacious rooms and all the important amenities. Beds are supremely comfortable, rooms are clean and refreshed with pleasant aromas (like fresh cotton / sheets). Also, the staff at the HGI-Polaris are amazing and clearly committed to making your stay as pleasant as possible. They knowing many of their guests by name. I have stayed at many hotels, but these guys/gals are really special. I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Tara,

We are thrilled to see you back with us. Your great comments about our beds, rooms and staff mean a lot coming from such a loyal regular guest as yourself. Our staff was seriously happy to see you.

Thank you so much for choosing us and sharing the great review.

When you come back remember we owe you a fresh meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stay at this hotel regularly for business and like that it is near lots of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. It's a clean hotel with a friendly staff. It's located a mile from the office so I can walk if it's a nice day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Craig,

We really appreciate reviews from our regular guests like you. Your loyalty is not taken for granted. Our staff always enjoys visits from our regular guest and we hope they feel like they are coming home when they return. And they are really motivated by such nice comments. Your right our location is the best. Everything you could want and need is close especially shopping and entertainment.

Thanks again for sharing your comment - we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polaris, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The room was very nice and the in room Jacuzzi was fantastic. The hotel bar had surprisingly cheap alcohol and was staffed with friendly bartenders. The fitness center was on the small side and often found myself waiting to use equipment. The biggest negative is that breakfast is not free!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Elijah C

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn at Polaris and taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate the nice comments about our Jacuzzi rooms. They are very comfortable and in high demand. We are glad you appreciate our friendly Bartenders they get complimented all the time. Our fresh made to order breakfast and buffet is a very good value for $9.95.

Thanks again for your patronage and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suamico, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was the second time in the past six months my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. It is an excellent hotel but, this time, we experienced an uncomfortable situation.

Early Saturday morning, April 13th, the fire alarm started going off at 7:07 a.m. As we got out of bed and started getting on some clothes the alarm went silent in about one minute. I tried to call the front desk several times only to get a prerecorded message about creating or deleting a wake-up call. Since the alarm stopped we just went back to bed, although it did bother us not to have an answer from the front desk. I later found out the only female attendant at the desk was handling incoming calls from other rooms and could not get to the other phone to respond. We can't fault her for that. Shortly after going back to bed we heard a police car and fire truck come to the hotel. We then heard the fire alarm go off just one quick beep and then stop. I guess the fire department had to reset the alarm system.

After we packed up and checked out a male attendant at the front desk informed me that the alarm went off because the hotel water pump put failed and set off the alarm. He said that had happed several times of late. I asked him why the alarm for the water pump is tied into the fire alarm system but he had no answer for that.

After going outside to pack the car we heard an outside alarm that had been going off for about one hour. The male attendant at the front desk said they were trying to contact the maintenance person to have it shut off.

This hotel either needs a new water pump system or should consult a professional to have the alarm for this system separated from the entire hotel fire alarm system. Other than this situation everything else was great. In the near future, when booking a room at this hotel, I would inquire whether the alarm system has been separated or if the water pump has been replaced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Michael,

We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. It is great that you have experienced our property more than once and that you enjoy staying with us.

I am very sorry for the uncomfortable situation you experienced with the fire alarm. At the same time we were having issues with our switchboard. I am also very sorry that you were not able to reach the front desk. As it is always very uncomfortable when you cannot find out what is going on. Fortunately that was resolved quickly. But the mechanical issue that created the alarm is something we had to have repaired and is fine now. But that does not make up for your experience.

I thank you for sharing your experience and giving us the opportunity to apologize. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

We appreciate your loyalty and do not take it for granted. We hope to see you next time you visit Polaris.

Sincerely
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris

Address: 8535 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hilton Garden Inn Polaris
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.