We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Vaquero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Vaquero Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Vaquero Mexican Restaurant
3230 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202
(614) 261-0900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 2,022 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“El Vaquero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The service stinks but the food makes up for it. I no longer frequent the one on Olentangy for fear of testosterone poising, but there are other, better ones in town. Nothing unexpected, but good, serviceable fare.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots of grease”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ordered the taco salad. There was so much grease on the meat that it oozed out of the crisp taco bowl and pooled on the plate in an orange, waxy mess. Not the healthy meal I was hoping for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A good place to unwind with margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We've been coming to El Vaquero for years. This is the first time we visited this location. They are consistently the same which is good. We had a great meal. There are usually coupons available in PaperMint. I tried to print some off their website but it doesn't work. Your food is out in no-time so if you are on a tight schedule, this place should work fine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Fastest Food Delivery***The Best Raspberry Margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We go the the El Vaquero in Grove City more often than this one. I believe they are all about the same. This is the place we meet with co-workers to unwind on a Friday night. Food is delivered so quickly you hardly get started on your chips and salsa. I've never had a bad meal there. The service has always been great too. The Raspberry Margaritas are the bomb. We have ladies get togethers there just so we can do the Margaritas!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilimington, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had great food, great service and great drinks! Thanks for a great experience!!! There was a wide variety of entrees and the drink menu was extensive!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vaquero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Vaquero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vaquero Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.