We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious BBQ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Barbeque

City Barbeque
2111 W Henderson Rd, Columbus, OH 43220-7346
(614) 538-8890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 1,992 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply delicious BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Came in for the first time and was warmly welcomed by the cashier who gladly proceeded to explain their menu and offered some samples! Absolutely great service! Ordered the sampler which was certainly enough for 2 people. The food came out hot and delicious! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because of the sauces. I LOVE bbq sauces! I tried the regular and the sweet and didn't like either of them. On the other hand the meats were delicious by themselves. Will definitely be back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi! Thanks so much for the great review! We have some great BBQ sauces, next time try the "gold" mustard sauce, it's my favorite! I would love to send you a voucher for your next sandwich to be on us, that way you can try the sauce with no risk :) it goes GREAT with our turkey. Please send your mailing address to jordan@citybbq.com. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    47
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stopped in after our trip at the zoo... Food was good and staff were extremely friendly. No real complaints.. The meat was really good, but wasn't too fond of the different bbq sauces. Regardless, a good trip and would return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and these guys saved my butt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The food was solid. I wasn't terribly hungry but I needed a quick bite and the City Barbecue turkey sandwich was delicious. They also sell a bunch of craft root beers as well. This place also has solid FREE Wi-Fi as well. I was able to sit and work while eating my sandwich. I have been here a couple other times for OSU games and their portions for dinner are HUGE. I have been happy every time I have been here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Marketing at City Barbeque, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks so much for the review! I would love to send you something special to enjoy during your next visit. If you wouldn't mind, please email me your mailing address to samantha@citybbq.com

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite BBQ in Columbus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great options for everyone in the family! My favorite menu items are the brisket sandwich with the corn pudding!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just came in from Texas and the bbq at City is just as good as anything we had in Austin or Dallas. Had two different kinds of sandwiches when we stopped in and they were delicious. Great sauce, meats cooked well and the servings aren't skimpy. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.