We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Dynasty Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Dynasty Chinese Restaurant
1930 E Dublin Granville Rd, Columbus, OH 43229-3509
(614) 523-2008
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #490 of 1,992 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Fayetteville, NC USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

One visit I had the wonderful Sunday Buffet. It is super. Not your average Asian buffet. The food is selected from menu items and served where they are very inviting. The next visit, I ordered from the menu. The Shrimp Sizzling Rice Soup for two was marvelous. I really enjoyed the Lettuce Wraps also. My favorite of the two visits, I must admit was the crab legs on the Sunday Buffet. Regardless the owner, Steve and the wait staff were excellent hosts. I recommend this to anyone that like Asian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service and food, and overcharging”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Ordered a pot of tea for myself. Had tea left over, so asked if I could have a clean cup so I could offer my husband a sip.........charged $1.25 for clean cup.
Food was cold because it was brought within a minute of the soup and eggroll,so by the time you finish that (in a hurry!), meals were cold. Also....sat at the table with all the dirty bowls & dishes surrounding us while eating meals.
Not a pleasant relaxing experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
“Good Food (In the Past)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Unsafe area? Where does he/she live, Muirfield? Did someone get mugged in the parking lot? Keep the reviews about the restraurants, not sweeping generalizations about neighborhoods. Go back to your neighborhood then. I guess all the businesses in that area should shut down, right? Back to the restaurant review: I have been getting chinese dinners from this restaurant for years. They used to provide high-quality food, but not anymore. These days they are hit-or-miss. I have ordered one of two dinners over the years - chicken fried rice and chicken with vegetables (w/steamed or fried rice). Lately they seem to be having a problem with the fried rice. During the past year the chicken fried rice was fine as long as you didn't order it in the evening. In the evening is has a "bottom of the wok" quality - greasy, dark fried rice. Today (April 10, 2012) I ordered chicken fried rice around 4pm and it was inedible - greasy and foul-tasting, a sad replacement for what used to be a great-tasting dinner. As far as the chicken w/vegetables dish, I stopped ordering that a long time ago - the vegetables used to be crunchy and delicious but became soggy and sad. I'm not someone that likes to roll the dice when choosing dinner. My, how the mighty have fallen. I'm getting my chinese dinners from a more predictable restaurant from now on.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good place, dangerous area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

very good food: would recommend if they were not in an unsafe area of columbus

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ignored customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Tonight was the the second time that my boyfriend and I have received poor service--- from the staff's lifeless grins to feeling rushed. Stopped in this evening for desert and alcohol and chose to sit at the bar. To my surprise, they pulled the cake out of the deep freezer (behind the bar), and place it in the microwave (on the bar). After serving the cake and drinks, we sat there for an hour without a soul coming to check on us, refill our waters, etc. and we were the ONLY customers there. Never again will I visit this establishment.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Dynasty Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to China Dynasty Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.