We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Portions - Average Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Champps Americana

Champps Americana
1827 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1496
(614) 298-0833
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #570 of 1,987 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Portions - Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My hubby met a bunch of his old chums there for dinner while we were visiting Columbus. I ordered the Champps salad with vinaigrette dressing but forgot to order it on the side. Huge mistake. My salad was drowning!

It was OK. The place is not that expensive and if you are hungry and don't want to break the bank it is not a bad place to go.

So when planning a trip there, think TGIF, or BJ's or something like that. Decent food, decent prices but forgettable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dull Steak Knives, and by the way, Beers do Sweat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I usually enjoy going to Champps for dinner, but this was mediocre at best. Being alone I sat at the bar. I ordered the steak and grilled shrimp. Unfortunately, the steak knife I was given was dull enough that it would have been difficult to cut butter slices with. I got another one, which was better but not great. Otherwise the meal was only adequate. And I don't get it. Why can't they provide you with a coaster or napkin for your beer? Mine sweated and dripped all over the metal counter of the bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Reasonable Choice, Good Bar Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Wound up here because it was convenient and seemed nice. My experience was fine. The place did not seem dirty on the day I was there, we had pretty good service (not great), the food was good (nothing real special), it was crowded and the place has a ton of TVs. We sat in the bar area and the atmosphere was pleasant. I have no doubt some others may have had a poor experience, but mine was pretty good. We had to wait a little for our waitress to find us and it wasn't a highend place, but we weren't expecting it to be either. Overall - it was a good, although relatively average place for a sports bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Being a "Sports Bar/ Restaurant" Champps is open later than a lot of eateries, but their menu is quite varied,we have dined here several times, and enjoyed great Gyros , delicious burgers, and wild desserts. The staff is always great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, okay price, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Four of us went to Champps on Friday evening after trying another nearby restaurant (the wait was 1-1/2 hours - so we went to Champps). We arrived around 6:45 and had a 35 minute wait.
We ordered some appetizers and drinks which came pretty quickly and we pretty tasty. Some of the appetizers seem like frozen-and-fried products but others seemed fresh.
Dinner came in under 30 minutes, which wasn't bad considering the place was packed. The waffle fries were cheap, frozen, pre-made fries - the low point of the plate. If you want a salad with you meal, prepare to spend more $$. The food quality of the entrees was good. Between the four of us, we had a pretty large variety ranging from BBQ ribs to shrimp pasta; a burger to chicken. Everyone enjoyed their meals and were satisfied with the quantity. our server was very nice and very accommodating!
It's basic, America fare, and I would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Been to Champps Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champps Americana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.