We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican fare for a chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border Mexican Cafe

On the Border Mexican Cafe
4175 Morse Crossing, Columbus, OH 43219
(614) 471-4416
Improve this listing
Ranked #549 of 1,992 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Mexican fare for a chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently went here for a late lunch on a Saturday afternoon, so it wasn't busy and we were seated right away by the friendly manager. It was a beautiful day so we enjoyed our dining experience on their patio. Our server was very friendly, attentive, and competent! The food was really good, especially the appetizer of avocado fries. I was a little disappointed with the lack of vegetarian options, but I settled on the avocado with red chile pesto enchiladas, which were very flavorful, and cilantro rice and black beans. My boyfriend opted for the superior dinner. Even the strawberry lemonade was awesome! Overall, a little pricey, but a good experience from beginning to end!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not up to par.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The restaurant was running slow due to one person not showing up according to one employee and the computers not working right since a storm by the manager and other employee. The food was not as pictured in the menu. My brother's fajitas came out with no sizzle and only took up about 1/3 of the skillet. Drinks were not refilled, so I went up to servers station to get a water pitcher twice. The worse part of them running slow, was they messed the order up and my daughter's food did not come out, so they made it and didn't charge us. My other daughter's beans and rice were undercooked and her empinadas (spelling?) where well done. The most upsetting part was how unclean it was. No one was prebussing tables and there were two tables across from where I sat that did not get cleaned off the entire time we were there. The only time they cleaned a table was when they needed to sit there. I know they are having a bad night, but in all there were 9 tables within two tables of us in either direction that only got clean when they needed to sit someone. They even sat someone before one table was cleaned off. I don't know if I will give a second shot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Skip it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in for a late lunch after working up an appetite at Easton. Even though the restaurant was not busy, we were not seated immediately, and our waitress seemed to have a bit of an attitude. The chips and salsa were good, but it was downhill from there. The food was average and the flavors were of processed food, not fresh at all. The jalapeno sausage slices on my husband's fajita platter were burnt to a crisp, and this was apparent by sight alone. Vacated tables sat dirty for the duration of our meal, and the floor doesn't appear to be swept often. As we were leaving, my husband told me that his first impression was to leave right after entering On the Border. I wish he had told me this before our meal. There are MUCH better options in Columbus.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was in the mood for Mexican and On the Border solved my craving, but the food is really nothing special. Service was good; there's nothing 'wrong' with the food here, it just isn't as great as more authentic places.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

A great place all the way around been there twice will go back again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to On the Border Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.