We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Atmosphere and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus

Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus
240 E Kossuth St, Columbus, OH 43206-2188
614-444-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,973 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: German, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Springfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Awesome Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I were in Columbus on personal business and went to Schmidts for lunch.My husband had never been there but I had as a young girl and teenager with my mother.It was as I remembered and the food was awesome. We had the Bahama Mama with the german potato salad. The atmosphere was lively. The wait staff was friendly and dressed in the attire.We will definitely come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    390
    229
    69
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Authentic German Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After driving around in the German Village, I found this place! Absolutely great service and delicious food, not to mention the awesome dessert! Will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“The Total German Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The restaurant is on the registry of historic places as the metal plaque on the outside of the restaurant indicates. The red brick exterior suggests it's age. The streets of Germantown are paved with brick, the quant homes and small flower beds enrich the spirit of days past. The interior has a lively décor which suggests it's German heritage. The waiting staff all wear German clothing and musicians play traditional German instruments including the accordion. I choose the buffet. It was around 3 PM and there were no lines. Reservations can not be made. It's first come and first served. Weekends can be very crowded and a relatively small parking area forces most people to park on the street. My party of four was seated immediately and our drink order consisted of water. It came quickly with a fresh lemon slice. There were two orders of the buffet. The Buffet was $9.95, all you can eat. Three varieties of brats. I liked the Brat stew which has a barbeque style sauce and beans with a slightly spicy brat. The Bahama MaMa and another brat was also available. Sides included: sauerkraut, potato salad which was not to my liking, mac and cheese, potato soup (Great), red beets, apple sauce and a salad bar. The buffet came with a free desert. I had the cherry cheese cake torte. A fabulously smooth creamy texture. The gigantic cream puff was the other order. Yes, it was "All That". The strudel was the final desert order. Someone in my party ordered the potato pancakes. She thought they were a little small. The final order was the Weiner Schnitzel. Horseradish and mustard were on the table. Schmidt's has been featured on the Food Network Channel, as well as, Man vrs Food. The neighborhood, the place, the staff and the food and drink give you a total German experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I spent the morning walking around downtown Columbus and knew this is where I wanted to eat. It was a hot June day, and I wasn't sure the long wait would be worth braving the hot sun or possible thunder showers. In the end, totally worth it.
The atmosphere is great. It reminded me of a German beer house in Munich. The place seems small with all the guests inside, which made it very festive. The servers wear traditional German garb and are very friendly and helpful. The food came out very quickly and was cooked perfectly. I had to enjoy a puff pastry, and I'm so glad I did.
I highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“German Village Mainstay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Bold and hearty, this long-standing family restaurant is a must when in Columbus. So many good offerings, it is hard to pick. The various meats are excellent, the potato salad is to die for, but the cream puffs are a required order.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus also viewed

 

Been to Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.