We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus

Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus
240 E Kossuth St, Columbus, OH 43206-2188
614-444-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,987 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: German, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Peebles, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you're a fan of German food, this is a "must try" restaurant in Columbus! Seating is a little close, and they're usually crowded, but the service is excellent and the food is unbelievable. Prices are reasonable for the quality, and the overall experience is top notch. Try the cream puffs for desert, you won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    269
    75
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Living on their reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a good place to eat. BUT they are living on their past reputation. The quality of their food slipped a lot. During the Lunch Hour they get packed. You end of waiting about 15-20 minutes waiting for a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“German Goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

An old and lovely family restaurant. The food is good and my sampler dish was large enough to share easily. Beer selection is good and enjoyable but, if you are a wine lover, the selection is weak. Overall, a lovely dining experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gotta try it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

OMG what a find in the middle of Ohio! This restaurant was bustling and packed and yet the food was awesome and the service top notch. Try the brats and the beer sampler.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A MUST in Columbus, Ohio!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been going to Schmidt's since I was a little girl!! I am now a senior citizen (in age only!) My parents took us there all the time. We took our daughters there all the time. It is a must for my husband. He loves the Bahama Mamas and potato salad. I love the brats and potato pancakes. The desserts are to die for (well sort of!) They ship everywhere!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus also viewed

 

Been to Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.