We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A casual, fun dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap City Diner--Grandview

Cap City Diner--Grandview
1299 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-3135
(614) 291-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cap City Diner--Grandview is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,987 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Westerville, Ohio, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A casual, fun dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went to Cap City Diner for dinner and had casual food. The menu offers reasonable sandwiches and appetizers but also has more substantial dinners at a good price. The waiter was attentive, the food came in a reasonable amount of time and all of us enjoyed our dinner. This restaurant has HUGE desserts that are amazing! Clean, nice décor and friendly staff. We will be back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    91
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Less than average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We started with the calamari and crab cake. Although the calamari was decent, the crab cake was easily the worst crab cake I've ever had. For $14 it shouldn't taste like crab flavored breading. For dinner we had the fish and chips and the philly steak sandwich. Philly was average (not a hard dish), and somehow although the crust on the fish was someone crispy, the fish inside was laden with the frying oil. The fries were good, and so was the maytag blue cheese coleslaw. For dessert, we took "to go" a key lime pie and a bread pudding. After a disappointing meal I thought I'd at least be able to enjoy my key lime pie. Wrong, wrong, wrong! It wasn't remotely like key lime pie. Instead of a custard type dessert, it was graham cracker crust filled with a whipped topping that had a slight key lime flavor?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Do not visit the upper Arlington location!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Do not go to the upper Arlington location. We had a party of 4 an each were on our first drink. When the waiter came over one if my friends started joking around with the server. The server said then that he wasn't going to serve my friend. We assumed he was joking because we were on our first drinks. The waiter took a long time so my friend went to the bar to get another drink. When we came back the server brought all of us waters and sent the manager over. Verbatim from the manager, "how is everything tonight? I've heard you had a little too much to drink..." We immediately were embarrassed and mortified. we got up and left. Wow! Until they get new management- don't go back there!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a fun family lunch choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Meatloaf, romano crusted chicken and seriously big chocolate cake. All were scrumptious and loved having enough cake to take home for a couple of days of leftover deliciousness! Parking was easy, greeting was nice and pleasant, and we were fed and on our way home in a little over an hour. Nice family lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'Nnati
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try and hit the happy hour if you can find a spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have been in Columbus for three years and have been to Cap City 5 times.

Each time the quality was consistent and will keep coming back.

Extensive menu, the blue cheese chips are addictive.

Bar area is not large but not small either. Do not prefer to sit in what appears to be the “diner area ‘in the left front of the restaurant.

Solid choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap City Diner--Grandview also viewed

 

Been to Cap City Diner--Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap City Diner--Grandview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.