We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, but not memorable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Istanbul Mediterranean Cuisine

Cafe Istanbul Mediterranean Cuisine
3983 Worth Ave, Columbus, OH 43219-6117
614-473-9144
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 2,022 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Tasty, but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful decor, quiet, pleasant atmosphere
Service descent, but not overally attentive
Tasty appetizers, Mediterrean pizza OK - I've had better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wapakoneta, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Four of us ate here on Saturday evening (note one person is middle eastern, one eastern europe and two of us eating alot of both areas so very familiar with this type of food). Bread and oil (paparika / oil / dill) was delivered to the table- YUM. We ordered hummus and borek, both were tasty. The borek was different that two of us expected, but good - its phyllo pastry strips with feta cheese rolled and then FRIED not baked. Turkish gyro, Saturday special - lamb shank, chicken kebab and lamb kebab - all were happy with the meals. We also both shared Kazandibi (Custard) - homemade milk custard topped with cream and grape sauce which was nice.
One note: for beer drinkers- the turish beer is very weak.

This is a very nice location and easy to get to. A wonderful find.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Warm Environment, Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stopped at the Cafe Istanbul in Dublin tonight after the Buckeye game. We have been driving by a lot and figured tonight was a good night finally to stop in as it was cold out and a hot meal was what we needed. We also figured there would be fewer crowds further away from campus.

We were greeted by a friendly man, who was presumably the manager. He suggested sitting by the fire (exactly what we needed!) and gave us a table option. We sat on the bar side to see the tvs.

Ehsan was our server. He was great - very friendly and personable and attentive. The restaurant has a great, warm atmosphere with the decor and the fireplace. Our food arrived promptly and hot.

Our food was outstanding. I opted for the vegetarion Okra Stew - very flavorful and the perfect dish for the chilly, fall night. My husband had the Doner Kabob which was fantastic - the shaved lamb was perfectly prepared. The plentiful, warm bread and wonderful Turkish wine rounded out the meal for us. The menu has a lot to choose from and we are looking forward to going back to try some other items.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic, tasty, reasonably priced food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are two Cafe Istanbul restaurants in the Columbusarea. I have been to both several times. The one at Easton is much larger inside while the one in Bexley has a bigger outdoor area.Both serve good food. The portions are large, you may want to share food.Ask the staff for explanations and recommendations. If you like Mediterranean food served in a clean, friendly place, Cafe Istanbul is a great choice!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Reference to the ishtanbul restaurant in Easton located on the same street as Nordstrom . The atmosphere , ambience , decor is miserable . I visited on a Saturday evening when all other restaurant establishments where buzzing ... This one wasn't , we should have seen this as a clue. The waitress confirmed after we asked 3 times to verify that the soup was vegetarian without any chicken or animal stock ( mentioned allergies ) she was adamant it was vege ! Server delivered the wrong drinks seems she didn't understand vodka and coke .. He also verified soup was chicken based .. Just hate it when waitresses can't be bothered to check when they are not sure , this could have been serious i mentioned i had allergies . Would not recommend this place at all the staff attitude sucks ! And this is very uncommon in the friendly state of Ohio

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Istanbul Mediterranean Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Istanbul Mediterranean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Istanbul Mediterranean Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.