We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro
1092 Bethel Rd, Columbus, OH 43220-2610
614-451-9774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,982 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Just west of Route 315
coco88
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Refectory has been our top "special occasions" restaurant for many years. The dishes are exquisite in presentation and taste. The service is probably one of the best you'll find in town. The quality of the traditional fine dining experience here can't be beat.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    17
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Jazz Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Refectory consistently is ranked as one of the top restaurants in Columbus, but I have generally been able to keep my enthusiasm for it under control. However, on Saturday night we ventured there again to partake of a jazz offering. My enthusiasm is renewed. In an intimate, private seating area, a jazz quartet (although a trio the night we were there due to some emergency for one of the members) we enjoyed a professional, extended , fun excellent concert. Introduced with a complimentary kir royale, the solitary three course fixed price menu includes the cover charge and may be paired with a wine flight of the chef's selection for an additional 50%. Alcohol may also be ordered separately. For a 'mass feeding' ( n = about 48), the food arrived at reasonable temperatures and times, and was a cut above for these kinds of affairs. The service was fine, but a bit slow when presenting the bill. We would go back, as the jazz is very, very good. Beware: no talking during the music...one patron arose to chastise a table that could be heard!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Incredible service and high-class dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Having been to many restaurants over the years, I can safely say that The Refectory provides one of, if not the best service to its customers. The decor of the restaurant is also quite nice, and the tables are nicely spread out such that you feel you have a bit of privacy. The waitstaff are extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and make terrific recommendations. As for the food, it is all prepared in a very refined way, and looks extremely elegant on the plate. That being said, sometimes the dishes don't hit the mark 100%, and feel like they are trying too hard to be fancy rather than delicious. Don't get me wrong, everything still tastes good, and many of the dishes are prepared to perfection, but some dishes leave you wondering if they would have left off a bit of the fanciful aspects, if it would've tasted better. This restaurant is also quite expensive, so be prepared! We would definitely eat here again, and it is worthy of much of the praise that it receives.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Superb service. Impeccable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Completely enjoyable meal with superb service. Beautiful burgundy suggested by waiter with the knowledge of a sommelier. Lamb and veal dishes were superb. We were visiting Columbus (students in the late 1970s) and the eating scene in Columbus has changed dramatically. There is, here and in other great restaurants in Columbus, a real chance to enjoy a wonderful meal. As good or better than meals we've had in Firenze, Bologna, Paris, New York. Truly world class. And dining in a former church with walnut beams hewn by hand 150+ years ago? Unbeatable ambience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always an amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visit The Refectory a few times each year during Restaurant Week and other special events. Last month we stopped by for their annual Tax Relief Dinner, a three course menu for about $32 a person. We were seated in the small dining room, which provides an intimate environment for dining. Our server Joseph recommended a wonderful old vine Zinfandel (Bedrock), which was reasonably priced at about $50 and complimented the dinner. The beauty of their extensive wine list is that there is a fantastic wine at every price point! Their delicious bread is always served warm straight out of the oven! My dining partner had the quiche to start, and luckily I was able to steal a bite of it! Delicious! His flank steak entree was cooked a perfect rare. I had the smoked salmon rillette to start, which was amazing. My pork brisket was delicious! We both selected a different dessert from a list of four for the third course, and Joseph brought all four desserts for us to try. Service was spot on without being intrusive. I'm so glad we signed up for their email list as there are always special dinners, wine tastings, and other events to enjoy the wonderful restaurant that is The Refectory!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.