We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT MEAL AND WINE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro
1092 Bethel Rd, Columbus, OH 43220-2610
614-451-9774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,963 restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Just west of Route 315
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT MEAL AND WINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited The Refectory Restaurant for the first time, IT was Great. Our Server John was the best. Shared his knowledge of the wines and their food parings. The food was great and the Pork Belly and Brisket was very tasty and unusual .Would order it again.
They have not forgotten what good service is and how to delivery it with style.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    114
    12
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“A really great restaurant, but I must run through the drive-through on the way home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Refectory is a great restaurant. For many years, it was one of the three best restaurants in Columbus, back when there weren't very many great restaurants here.

It is the ONLY of these three that is still a great restaurant. Very unusually, they have withstood the "sands of time". Still one of the best restaurants in Columbus, and we now have MANY great restaurants.

Beautiful atmostphere in a long decomissioned church. Delicious French food. Outstanding wine cellar (with numerous past awards from Wine Spectator). a more casual bar you can eat in, too.

This is a truly great restaurant.

My only problem is that I actually like to eat, and have a solid appetite. Usually after we've dropped a solid sum of money at the Refectory and had a very nice meal, I have to run through the late-night drive-through of some national chain burger joint to get a cheesburger to fill the rest of me up. Literally.

If you have a modest appetite, like to dress up, love great French food and have a pretty good budget, you'll LOVE the Refectory. If you're a big eater, this will be a great appetizer course for you that you'll thoroughly enjoy.

An excellent, romantic place for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lives up to hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited as part of our delayed honeymoon and this was our last dinner. Needless to say, all awards and accolades we read about we're well deserved. The atmosphere was perfect, service impeccable, and food was unbelievable. One of the best meals, if not the best, we've had in a while. Will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The last time we were at the Refectory our food wasn't as good as we expected. Haven't been back lately.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing, this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having frequented The Refectory over the years, my experience was this time far less pleasant. (Four of us went during a "restaurant week" promotion, with a reasonable price for a 3-course meal; this is much less expensive than dining using the regular menu.) But from the outset, we were less than impressed by Joseph, a server whose affective and stilted manner was off-putting. The mahi mahi I had was tough, stringy, didn't taste fresh. I chose a white wine, a pinot gris, that was "off," quite undrinkable; it was not served until well into the appetizer, and despite my two inquiries I was told it was "still not cold enough." All-in-all, quite a disappointment, as clearly the staff was unable to effectively manage the tables adequately, and the food, although displayed beautifully, was not up to par.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.