We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Filet Mignon---and ambiance was great too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindey's

Lindey's
169 E Beck St, Columbus, OH 43206
(614) 228-4343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lindey's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,863 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mohawk
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Filet Mignon---and ambiance was great too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were celebrating our 41st wedding anniversary and decided to go downtown Columbus. We chose Lindey's in the German Village because of reviews online about it. The staff was attentive and the food was exceptional! It made our special day even more special! Thank you Jenna for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    56
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great patio, attentive service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We've visited Lindey's several times during the past few years. We're never disappointed. In nice weather months, we like to dine on the patio. It's enclosed on three sides which adds to an intimate ambiance. Lovely plantings, interesting architecture, and great people watching to go along with good food. They don't take reservations for the patio.

We/ve eaten there for dinners and Sunday brunch several times. The service is very attentive without being intrusive. All of the wait staff we've had have been personable.

The menu is fairly wide-ranging American cuisine. There is a good wine list. For brunch, I've had their burgers and their stuffed French toast - both very good. For dinner, I tend to gravitate toward steak. Some of my friends really like the seafood. Desserts are excellent. I really like the "post morten" - a chocaholic's dream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of the best in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I don't understand why Lindeys patio is never mentioned amongst reviews. This is one of the best in Columbus. The menu is decent and affordable for the quality. What I do like about Lindeys is the consistency. The service is great and the location lovely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best in C-bus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, Lindey's has a lovely patio, probably the best in Columbus. I'd extend that to brunch, or at least the best upscale brunch in Columbus. While not a budget option, the Lindey's menu offers real value. In the dozen or so times we've been here over the years, we've consistently had excellent food and service. The menu is thoughtful and varied, though maybe leans a bit heavily on the stead. This isn't the place for the most innovative cooking in town, but it is the place for consistently delicious food and consistently professional service. The dining room is lovely, but if you can eat on the patio, that's the best choice. I'm told happy hour specials are great here, but I haven't managed to get here that early yet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brunch not up to par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Came here for brunch with several family members when we were in German Village for the home tour. I had eaten lunch and dinner at Lindey's in the past. Our brunch experience did not measure up. I had the Niçoise salad. The tuna was dry and the salad itself was just ordinary. Others had a similar experience. Based on our past experience, we will try Lindey's again when we travel to Columbus. I cannot recommend the brunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lindey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.