We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Columbus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindey's

Lindey's
169 E Beck St, Columbus, OH 43206
(614) 228-4343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lindey's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 2,105 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mohawk
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although very nexpensive, this is a real delight. The offerings are marvelous for either lunch or dinner. And if you are lucky enough to get a seat in the patio, it will be a truely memorable experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The best patio in town with food to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lindey's is one of the finest dining spots in the city. The menu is terrific with daily fish specials to please any appetite. The ambience is quite nice, but noisy at dinner. The staff is attentive and professional. The patio is beyond belief. The absolute best bar in town except for Curio. Brunch is quite nice on the weekends. Lindey's is one of the best run operations in Columbus and is not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OhioMaranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect Upscale Lunch Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

A recent lunch with an out of town friend reaffirmed that Lindey's continues to be an outstanding choice for an upscale business lunch, a special lunch with friends, or entertaining out of town guests. For more than thirty years (no small feat in the restaurant business) Lindey's continues to be a favorite of many Columbus diners, including myself!
The lunch menu is varied and extensive from lighter fare to full portion entrees. On this visit I enjoyed an interesting sweet pineapple laced gazpacho with a tasty shrimp salad sandwich followed by an outstanding key lime pie presentation to satisfy my sweet tooth.
Lindey's is located on a lovely corner in German Village with an attractive classic interior atmosphere and sizable garden patio area. The service is friendly and attentive without being intrusive or pretentious. Given it's location the gratuity based valet parking is a real plus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best patio in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have always loved Lindey's. Great food, great service and great atmosphere. The patio is beautiful and the perfect size.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank weluv2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inattentive Service in a lovely setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Set a reservation which we discovered aren't honored if you wish to sit on the lovely outdoor patio. We chose to have a drink at the patio bar while we waited. Despite our seats at the end of the bar, both (and sometimes all three!) bartenders busied themselves with other patron's refills, tv channel selections, and small talk with regulars. After 20 minutes of being ignored/unnoticed we were able to get a drink menu. Another 15(!) minutes before the bearded lord of the outdoor lounge blessed us with a return to take our order. A quicker second drink order was possible before a table became available 1 hour after our reservation. A quick greeting by our server to deliver menus, then....nothing (for another 15-20 minutes). We forcefully got the attention of "Sam" who explained the specials, took our orders, and never returned (despite our request that he serve our table since our assigned server seemed too busy). Salads came out (dressed, rather than on the side), entrees arrived within a reasonable window. Grouper entree was awesome! Copper River Salmon feature was bland and uninspired. For the ambiance and prices, service could be much more hospitable. We will return for another try, but the front of house and drink service needs to be worlds better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lindey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing