We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Columbus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindey's

Lindey's
169 E Beck St, Columbus, OH 43206
(614) 228-4343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lindey's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,974 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mohawk
Findlay, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although very nexpensive, this is a real delight. The offerings are marvelous for either lunch or dinner. And if you are lucky enough to get a seat in the patio, it will be a truely memorable experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    185
    39
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The best patio in town with food to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lindey's is one of the finest dining spots in the city. The menu is terrific with daily fish specials to please any appetite. The ambience is quite nice, but noisy at dinner. The staff is attentive and professional. The patio is beyond belief. The absolute best bar in town except for Curio. Brunch is quite nice on the weekends. Lindey's is one of the best run operations in Columbus and is not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Upscale Lunch Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

A recent lunch with an out of town friend reaffirmed that Lindey's continues to be an outstanding choice for an upscale business lunch, a special lunch with friends, or entertaining out of town guests. For more than thirty years (no small feat in the restaurant business) Lindey's continues to be a favorite of many Columbus diners, including myself!
The lunch menu is varied and extensive from lighter fare to full portion entrees. On this visit I enjoyed an interesting sweet pineapple laced gazpacho with a tasty shrimp salad sandwich followed by an outstanding key lime pie presentation to satisfy my sweet tooth.
Lindey's is located on a lovely corner in German Village with an attractive classic interior atmosphere and sizable garden patio area. The service is friendly and attentive without being intrusive or pretentious. Given it's location the gratuity based valet parking is a real plus.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best patio in Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have always loved Lindey's. Great food, great service and great atmosphere. The patio is beautiful and the perfect size.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inattentive Service in a lovely setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Set a reservation which we discovered aren't honored if you wish to sit on the lovely outdoor patio. We chose to have a drink at the patio bar while we waited. Despite our seats at the end of the bar, both (and sometimes all three!) bartenders busied themselves with other patron's refills, tv channel selections, and small talk with regulars. After 20 minutes of being ignored/unnoticed we were able to get a drink menu. Another 15(!) minutes before the bearded lord of the outdoor lounge blessed us with a return to take our order. A quicker second drink order was possible before a table became available 1 hour after our reservation. A quick greeting by our server to deliver menus, then....nothing (for another 15-20 minutes). We forcefully got the attention of "Sam" who explained the specials, took our orders, and never returned (despite our request that he serve our table since our assigned server seemed too busy). Salads came out (dressed, rather than on the side), entrees arrived within a reasonable window. Grouper entree was awesome! Copper River Salmon feature was bland and uninspired. For the ambiance and prices, service could be much more hospitable. We will return for another try, but the front of house and drink service needs to be worlds better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindey's also viewed

 

Been to Lindey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.