We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great but . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manifesto Tuscan Grotto & Scotch Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Manifesto Tuscan Grotto & Scotch Bar
21 E State Street, Columbus, OH http://www.manifestograto.com/
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manifesto Tuscan Grotto & Scotch Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #489 of 1,963 restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State & High
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could have been great but . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Initially, we were warmly welcomed and seated quickly. When our waiter showed us the wonderful happy hour menu we anticipated a pleasant pre-movie dinner. We ordered drinks, salad and entrees and got off to a great start. However, after we finished our salad, we sat and waited . . . and waited . . . and waited. We asked the waiter about our entrees and he assured us they'd be there soon. Then we waited some more. By the time they arrived we asked to receive our check immediately because we had a showtime to make. Others around us were making the same request so the problem was not just ours. Interestingly enough, when my flatbread arrived it was cold and soggy - it had obviously been sitting in the kitchen waiting to be delived for a long time before it was brought to the table. Our food had a nice flavor but even at happy hour prices, cold, soggy food is not appetizing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    3
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We tried Manifesto Friday evening. They do not take reservations, but called ahead and were seated immediately. Our server, Ann was very helpful in our selections. She described the dishes and offered suggestions. This is a small plate place, which is great for us because we can try more things. We started with the Manifesto 8 flatbread. It had goat cheese, caramelized onions, tomato, greens and a lovely light lemon aioli - great. That was followed by the Braised Beef Cheeks over a mushroom risotto - OMG! This was the tenderest, best beef ever; it was like butter. Must have it again. Finally, we had excellent lamb lollipops. They were perfectly prepared and excellent. Oh! the decor is very interesting with quotes from past notables. I highly recommend Manifesto.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

House salad, Old School Manifesto Flatbread, and zingy Meatball Sliders made for a super delicious and super value happy hour. The featured happy hour cocktail was also an amazing value at $5... I enjoyed two. The decor seems a bit tired, but the food, drinks, and service are top notch. Definitely will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, Intimate and Inviting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had "Happy Hour" drinks and the Hummus! Both were excellent! The wait staff were accommodating and even the Manager stopped by to make sure we were taken care of or in need of anything. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the Bar and the little nooks and crannies as well as the upstairs tables. Would highly recommend. Just across the street from the Capital Building.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The space in this new restaurant is a little odd - great sized booths, wood paneling and then sloppy hand-written quotes on the wall. But overall, nice. Now to the food. We arrived at Happy House and there are some great deals - drinks and apps are reduced by about $4. And there is a signature cocktail created each day - the one we had was delicious.
We ordered a flatbread with specialty Italian meats. While the crust was good, the filling was like an Italian hoagie was opened-up and placed on top. The pickled topping was tasty but there could have been much more. The meatball sliders were dry inside and needed more sauce and cheese. The bread, however, was delicious. The fig and brie flatbread was quite yummy. But then the real downers - the desserts. The Tiramisu was what appeared to be large chunks of what tasted like Sara Lee Pound Cake squeezed into a circular shape with a small dollop of cream on top. The only sauce was about an 1/8th of an inch at the bottom. It wasn't tiramisu. And the cannoli? The filling was so light and airy it was covered up by the heavy, almost burnt shells.

We would return for drinks for sure, but not so for a real meal. Sadly, the awesome looking bar appeared to only seat around 5 or 6.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manifesto Tuscan Grotto & Scotch Bar also viewed

 

Been to Manifesto Tuscan Grotto & Scotch Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manifesto Tuscan Grotto & Scotch Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.