We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel a Short Walk from Great Restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drive In, Do More $159/nt
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel a Short Walk from Great Restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Columbus. The staff (especially the valet department) is excellent, and the hotel has large and inviting public spaces. But the best part is the location. The hotel is ideally situated just a few blocks from the Short North neighborhood with all its restaurants and shops. If there are any downsides, it's the pool. The pool is small and disappointing compared to the rest of the property.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wiestq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the very thoughtful review and feedback, especially of the service you received from the valet team. Our central location certainly offers a lot to choose from nearby in the Short North and Arena District! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful new hotel - reception staff were very helpful and professional. Justin, the waiter in the restaurant, gave exceptional service - we were staying there for a week and he was so helpful and knowledgeable of the menu and the cuisine served. If you have children/teens the restaurant is a little bit more fancy than needed for dinner but the breakfast buffet offered a good selection. The bedroom was very comfortable and quiet and was tastefully decorated - great TV, small refrigerator, and great blackout drapes (would have been better without the bathroom night light) My only one complaint was that it is a shame that they cannot accommodate hilton gold members on their executive floor - only platinum. All in all it was a great stay, good service and very comfortable accommodation. When in Columbus we shall definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind and gracious comments regarding the attentive service you received from the staff, particularly Justin. I have shared your comments through our Team Member Recognition Program. Indeed, I am most fortunate to work with such a group of service oriented professionals. Executive Lounge privileges are exclusively for those that purchase the Executive Floor and Diamond Hilton Hhonors members. I apologize if there was any confusion. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville Pa, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Overall a very good experience and very nice hotel. Everyone was very friendly and did whatever it took to make our stay comfortable. We were there for a business meeting and convention for 5 days and felt right at home. Location is across the street from the convention center which made the walk very simple across the pedestrian bridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Great! Glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to write of your experience. The pedestrian bridge has become a landmark in Columbus, and makes it very convenient to get to the Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is superb. The customer service receives 5 stars +. the entire staff is incredible. they were quick, anticipated needs, and were very helpful, pleasant and friendly. The rooms are fair size, GREAT lighting, especially in the bathroom, and comfortable. Being a LED certified building, they did a wonderful job making it enjoyable as well. There is lovely unique art work all through the hotel, and when they ran out of surface space, they featured the art on the ceilings of the rooms. what a kick! Only one downside- the air-condition in the room i had, blew right on the desk when working.
the restaurant is good- the service in the restaurant has not caught up to the level in the hotel. Being on High street though, the hotel is located a short block or 2 walk from many fine restaurants in North High and the arena district. the new bridge across High street makes it very easy to access the convention center. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in downtown Columbus.

Room Tip: i preferred a room with the natural light on the street side, vs the rooms with windows facing into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threedandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and particularly appreciate your gracious compliments of the service. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

New downtown Hilton is modern, yet inviting. accented with a very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are equally modern and make your rest a number one priority with its famous Serta bedding. The experience will be a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the note and so glad you enjoyed your stay. The beds certainly make for a good night's sleep! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Columbus Hilton is one of our favorite Hilton city properties. The rooms are superb. They are large, modern and comfortable. The restaurant is amazing and beautiful. The bar is popular and lively. However, the best part of the Columbus Hilton is the staff. Every single staff member we encountered was friendly, accommodating and willing to do whatever we needed to have a wonderful stay. The employees are what set this Hilton apart from the rest and make it such a special place. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalsfelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice note. We particularly appreciate your kind and gracious comments regarding the attentive service you received. Indeed, I am most fortunate to work with such a team of service-oriented professionals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I arrived at this hotel 2 days after its opening and stayed nearly 10 days due to my work. While some rooms were still being completed, my room was impeccable, but the staff - all of them - were amazing, great. Because I stayed there for so long, I got to know them and I can't tell you how happy and welcome they made me feel. Thrilled to be returning in 2 weeks time, for my regular trip from New Zealand to Ohio!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
How wonderful that nine months later we are still making an impression! You will be pleased to know that the hotel is completely finished (phew!) and that almost all of the team you encountered during your first visit are still here, which we are very proud of. We look forward to your return and your additional feedback as to our progress since opening. It has been a tremendous journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#32 of 140 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 140 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
1.1 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#70 of 140 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing