We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi & Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Lexington, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I were really impressed by this hotel. It's in the middle of district arena and in the heart of downtown Columbus. It is a beautiful hotel, very modern, and very clean. The only down fall is the $20/a night parking. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your note and glad you enjoyed your stay. While there is a cost for parking in an urban environment, the location in the midst of the best Columbus has to offer makes it worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    160
    48
    10
    8
See reviews for
130
146
26
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my first stay in the hotel- it was just completed last fall. My experience was awesome.

The hotel itself is great- it is in a perfect location downtown. It is directly across the street from the convention center, 2 blocks from Nationwide Arena and the Arena district, and maybe 5 blocks away from most state offices and the traditional downtown area. There are cool places to run nearby too (I suggest the trail along the river or going due north).

My favorite part about the hotel was the service. From the front desk, to the valet, to the bar on the second floor, to the housekeepers, to the executive club attendants- service was stellar. Everyone seemed genuinely happy and went out of their way to make the experience great.

The rooms themselves were very nice as you would expect in a very new hotel. The shower was especially cool. TVs were great- tons of channels and easy to use.

I was very happy with my HHonors benefits- I was put in a nice room on the executive level. I suggest as high of a floor as you can get- there are decent views on all sides and it should be quieter the higher you are.
I had a small problem with the car I had valeted, and the hotel handled it perfectly. I couldn't be more satisfied with the stay- please keep it up!

Room Tip: High floors are best- if you have HHonors status shoot for the 12th floor and the executive club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience. While we appreciate all feedback, certainly we enjoy the compliments all that much more! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I loved this hotel, new and clean with great amenities such as the pool and lounge on the second floor. Rooms were a bit smaller but very modern and comfortable. I loved the location and the ability to walk to the arena district and Short North. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved my stay. My room was extremely nice! , bed was comfortable. Everything was clean! The convenience to the Convention Center was great. Would stay here again. The bar area was clean and nicely decorated. I did not take advantage of the restaurant since I was there for a conference and all our meals were provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for one night while we were in town to see a comedian. I am EXTREMELY picky about hotels and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The hotel is immaculate. Clean and absolutely gorgeous! Every staff member we encountered was above and beyond friendly and helpful. Our room was so quiet. We never heard a peep from anyone else and there were multiple weddings the weekend we stayed. I can't say enough good about this hotel. We will stay here every time we stay in Columbus. No need to look anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful note. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I left with a bad taste in my mouth from a previous stay that I had, to which I commented on here before.. I kindly appreciate that the GM responded to my concerns and review on here, but what brought me back essentially was the service from Robin at the Front Desk.

I did not get to be checked in with her this time, but we got to chat over the phone multiple times as she was the phone person during my stay. Robin is a great person and is not afraid to show her personality through her job. She saw in the coffee shop during my and with no hesitation told me to try the hot chocolate as she was getting hers, and she gave me some information about the local places that she enjoys while I waited for my hot chocolate, I was very grateful!

I have to say, the parking situation does seem to be getting better when it comes to the staff explaining the parking structure to guests and how to use the keys properly.. However, I think it would be helpful to indicate which reader to use on the physical "black box" (I am aware of the signs that are on top of the boxes; but I think it can still get confusing when the garage attendants are yelling at you and telling you that you're doing it wrong..).

The restaurant is your default, they need to work harder.
Room service as well; service and staff that come to the room to deliver are terrible! (The wings are great though!!)
But with time and better management, I think this could change!

I now have experienced the KING and the 2 QUEEN rooms - if your staying, I advise that you go with a 2 QUEEN, whether you need the second bed or not, those rooms have the best views, locations and they're larger! I look forward to trying out a suite as Robin suggested.

Also, Erin with night audit was very sweet and wished me a great night every time I walked through the lobby at night. That's wonderful, usually night audit crews are unfriendly and hate their jobs.

Needless to say, I will be back again! Thanks Robin, Erin & other great staff!

Robin- Wear your hair down more, its beautiful! I wish I had those curls! haha.

Room Tip: Get a room with 2 QUEEN beds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We do take all feedback to heart and constantly strive to improve upon our product and services and glad that we have made strides particularly in regards to the parking situation. Sometimes, despite all the best planning prior to opening, one just needs to live with a building for a bit to get the feel of things and how it flows and adjust accordingly. We look forward to continuing to hear your feedback after your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am a road warrior; I travel for business a lot. My stay at the Columbus Hilton downtown was frustrating and disappointing. The room was extraordinarily tiny - unacceptably small - with a window facing an atrium that was noisy because the bar is there and the drinkers were loud. The drawer had some kind of dirt in it, which stained the white dress shirt I placed in it. Room service was expensive, but s-l-o-w. So slow I missed breakfast and had to go to an important meeting hungry and cranky. Oh, and the housekeeping staff was already banging on the door at 8:30 am (industry standard is 9). Avoid this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback and deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Certainly, this is not the comments for which we are striving. We do have rooms facing both the atrium and outside and always happy to get guests in the one they prefer. I do sincerely apologize for starting your day off on a bad note due to a slow breakfast and accept full responsibility for any damage done to your shirt. I will send a private message so that we can correct that situation for you if the front desk didn’t already do so. Again, my apologies; your constructive comments are sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.