We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Downtown Columbus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi & Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Miamisburg, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Downtown Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for one night while we were in town to see a comedian. I am EXTREMELY picky about hotels and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The hotel is immaculate. Clean and absolutely gorgeous! Every staff member we encountered was above and beyond friendly and helpful. Our room was so quiet. We never heard a peep from anyone else and there were multiple weddings the weekend we stayed. I can't say enough good about this hotel. We will stay here every time we stay in Columbus. No need to look anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful note. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    161
    48
    10
    8
See reviews for
132
148
26
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I left with a bad taste in my mouth from a previous stay that I had, to which I commented on here before.. I kindly appreciate that the GM responded to my concerns and review on here, but what brought me back essentially was the service from Robin at the Front Desk.

I did not get to be checked in with her this time, but we got to chat over the phone multiple times as she was the phone person during my stay. Robin is a great person and is not afraid to show her personality through her job. She saw in the coffee shop during my and with no hesitation told me to try the hot chocolate as she was getting hers, and she gave me some information about the local places that she enjoys while I waited for my hot chocolate, I was very grateful!

I have to say, the parking situation does seem to be getting better when it comes to the staff explaining the parking structure to guests and how to use the keys properly.. However, I think it would be helpful to indicate which reader to use on the physical "black box" (I am aware of the signs that are on top of the boxes; but I think it can still get confusing when the garage attendants are yelling at you and telling you that you're doing it wrong..).

The restaurant is your default, they need to work harder.
Room service as well; service and staff that come to the room to deliver are terrible! (The wings are great though!!)
But with time and better management, I think this could change!

I now have experienced the KING and the 2 QUEEN rooms - if your staying, I advise that you go with a 2 QUEEN, whether you need the second bed or not, those rooms have the best views, locations and they're larger! I look forward to trying out a suite as Robin suggested.

Also, Erin with night audit was very sweet and wished me a great night every time I walked through the lobby at night. That's wonderful, usually night audit crews are unfriendly and hate their jobs.

Needless to say, I will be back again! Thanks Robin, Erin & other great staff!

Robin- Wear your hair down more, its beautiful! I wish I had those curls! haha.

Room Tip: Get a room with 2 QUEEN beds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We do take all feedback to heart and constantly strive to improve upon our product and services and glad that we have made strides particularly in regards to the parking situation. Sometimes, despite all the best planning prior to opening, one just needs to live with a building for a bit to get the feel of things and how it flows and adjust accordingly. We look forward to continuing to hear your feedback after your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am a road warrior; I travel for business a lot. My stay at the Columbus Hilton downtown was frustrating and disappointing. The room was extraordinarily tiny - unacceptably small - with a window facing an atrium that was noisy because the bar is there and the drinkers were loud. The drawer had some kind of dirt in it, which stained the white dress shirt I placed in it. Room service was expensive, but s-l-o-w. So slow I missed breakfast and had to go to an important meeting hungry and cranky. Oh, and the housekeeping staff was already banging on the door at 8:30 am (industry standard is 9). Avoid this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback and deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Certainly, this is not the comments for which we are striving. We do have rooms facing both the atrium and outside and always happy to get guests in the one they prefer. I do sincerely apologize for starting your day off on a bad note due to a slow breakfast and accept full responsibility for any damage done to your shirt. I will send a private message so that we can correct that situation for you if the front desk didn’t already do so. Again, my apologies; your constructive comments are sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great spot near Nationwide arena, convention center, downtown districts, North Market, the Trail system. Hotel had nice rooms with comfy beds and updated tile bath rooms. Will stay here again next time. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the note. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have to say I doubt I've been to a better Hilton property than this one. Let's break it down:

The Room: Modern and pristine. A large flat panel, HD television on the wall and fairly close to the bed makes your viewing experience that much better. Each room comes with a build in couch/sitting area that's located in front of the window. The bathrooms are clean and modern and the showers have outstanding water pressure ( a pet peeve of mine when traveling). The ceiling in the room has a framed painting above the bed, which adds color to the area. The internet connection was great, as was the selection of television stations which included the Big Ten Network. There was also a nice desk area with AMPLE power outlets.

The Lobby: Easy access to check-in areas with a gift shop as well. Yes, items in the gift shop were greatly overpriced, but that's to be expected. There was also a Starbucks style coffee kiosk in the lobby that also offered breakfast items. This in addition to the restaurant that was located on the second floor.

Other: I am sure the hotel offers a pool, although I did not pack the swim trunks and couldn't tell you if it's good or not. I'm sure it's nice.

Location: The hotel is literally a 3-4 minute walk from the entertainment district that flanks Nationwide Arena. If you are heading to Ohio State, you are roughly 10 minutes via car from campus. Behind the hotel is a huge parking deck that offers self and valet parking options. There's easy access to the interstates as well. If you need a car, there's a Budget Car Rental location that's a 10 minute walk. They also provide a pickup and drop-off service.

SHHH: Don't tell anyone, but if you love a good bowl of Chili, walk out the front door, turn left, and walk a couple of blocks down to the Knead Restaurant. Their chili might be the best I've ever tasted.

Trust me when I tell you there are some bad, antiquated hotels in downtown Columbus. The Hilton-Downtown is the exception. This place screams new and modern. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback on your recent stay and glad you enjoyed your stay! We put a lot of thought into the details such as the television station selection which offers residential style DirecTV with over 100 stations including 65 in HD and includes some of the most popular sports packages. In the lounge, we also provide the full package of MLB, NHL, NBA and NFL stations so you can always find your home game! While of course we hope you will try our very own Gallerie Bar & Bistro featuring one of the best dining experiences in town from the locally acclaimed Chef Glover, our location in the Short North provides a wealth of excellent dining options covering every culinary style and budget and encourage everyone to check-out what the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the new Hilton in downtown Columbus Ohio. The experience was wonderful! The staff was exceptional. The decor in the rooms are very modern and very clean. I love the new technology and modern decor of the whole hotel and rooms. I would recommend this hotel over all others in this area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Guest Service Ambassador Cindy Danko-Southey helped me immensely during my stay at the Hilton Columbus Downton. After checking out of the hotel and taking a taxi to the airport, i relealized I had left my backpack in the hotel lobby, which contained my checkbook, iPad, medication and car keys. I was able to call the hotel from the airport and was transferred to Cindy at the front desk. She performed a quick check of the hotel lobbey and located my backpack, intact, exactly where I had left it. Huge relief. I made it back over to the hotel where Cindy had my backpack waiting for me at the front desk, and I still made my flight ontime. Thanks again for saving the day Cindy: If i'm ever back at the Hilton Columbus Downtown, i'll give you an even bigger hug this time!

Overall, the Hilton hotel was a very nice experience. the staff are friendly, the rooms are super clean, up to date, and the beds are very comfortable. The surronding area has many great restaurants and attractions, and many clean friendly bars/clubs for night entertainment. This was my first trip to Columbus and was impressed.

Thank you again Cindy Danko-Southey, Guest Service Abassador for Hitlon Columbus Downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind note. Your gracious comments regarding the attentive service you received from Cindy are greatly appreciated. I am most fortunate to work with such a service-oriented professional and have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with Cindy and will include your note in our recognition program. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.