We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drive In, Do More $159/nt
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Show Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at this location in early March while attending a show at the convention center. This is very nice hotel that is kept very clean. The fitness center and pool look very nice. Unfortunately, a couple late nights and a busy schedule kept me from trying each. The rooms are very roomy and were very clean. The bed was very comfortable. I didn't eat at the restaurant on premise, but I have been told that it is good. I did go to the bar downstairs and the service was very good and selection is great. The only issue I have with the hotel and this issue appears to be a Columbus issue in general are trains!! As I have mentioned in two other reviews Springhill OSU and Residence Inn Columbus-Worthington, why must hotels build along train tracks? Thank goodness the trains move very slow. With the help of the heater/air conditioning I didn't notice the train most of the time. Next trip, I will ask to be placed on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regionaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and glad you enjoyed your stay. Interesting comment about the trains. In the rail-era, Columbus was a major depot for both commercial and passenger traffic given its central location between major ports of the east and cities such as Chicago and Detroit as well as a gateway to the west. Port Columbus, the airport, is actually so named as it was an “in-land port” for commerce and served as a transfer station for materials from air to rail during early cross-continental transportation. The convention center located across the street was the site of the passenger terminal which was torn down as that form of transportation declined but the commercial rails still traverse the area. When the hotel was constructed, the rail lines were taken into consideration with special sound-insulating glass installed on that end of the building which is what resulted in the lack of noise during your stay. You may also enjoy the atrium-view rooms that are also insulated and very quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here because we were attending an event at Nationwide Arena. The hotel is beautiful. Everything is clean, new, and very modern. Our room was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. This is also a great location for events at the Arena. It is literally right around the corner. The convention center is also right across the street. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone attending events in downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHWIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind note. Sure cannot beat the location! Look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great staff. Awesome bartenders. Rm service pizza was barely passable and I would not do that again. Restaurant was pushing out some great looking dishes and I should have eaten there. Special was PEI Mussels offered with a wide variety of cooking broths.
The hotel and rms looked as if they were designed and furnished by IKEA. I'll leave it up to you to decide if that's good or bad. Huge exec suite with comfortable bed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Certainly, the hotel provides a much more contemporary international style than most Hiltons, but glad you found it to be comfortable and enjoyable. We are very proud of the restaurant that has really made a splash on the local dining scene and was just awarded Four Stars (out of Four) by Columbus Monthly. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Everything was very clean and new. The rooms were plush with no less than 10 memory foam pillows in the room. Beautiful stone floors in bathroom with walk in shower. Plenty of HOT water. Room service delivered breakfast right on time and it was hot and delicious. Staff were courteous, helpful, and friendly. WILL come back!

Room Tip: South corner rooms offer a great view of downtown Columbus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your note and glad you enjoyed your say. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My 2 friends and I stayed at this hotel to have a fun girls night. The manager on duty gave us a free appetizer card for the Gallarie restaurant in the hotel. It was also walking distance from park street which was really convenient. The only thing that would have made our stay better is if the housekeepers didn't keep knocking on our door early in the morning. Check out isn't until noon and we had housekeepers coming beginning at 8am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayinnexpress00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the weekend and apologize for any early morning disturbance. We encourage all guests to utilize the Do-Not-Disturb door hanger and the dead bolt to ensure your privacy. As most guests use the express check-out feature, there is no way for housekeepers to know when a guest is departed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed with my wife for an unexpected trip to Columbus Ohio over Valentines Day. Hotel is very nice and clean. It just opened in Oct. 2012. The rooms area little small, but we were very busy and not in the room much. We had lunch at the restaurant and i was very good. If I am ever in Columbus again, I would eat here. We did not have a car, but were able to walk to many of the attractions and restaurants on High street.

Room Tip: If you will be here for a few days, include the breakfast and ask for a two room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wonderful! Thanks for taking the time to share your kind note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Brand new facility, wonderfully decorated, great service. As is always true in such hotels, it was not a bargain but provided an experience of luxury and comfort. Staff was universally friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Fabulous! Thank you for the thoughtful note!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#32 of 140 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
2.5 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 140 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing