We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Downtown Columbus Ohio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbus Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Columbus Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi & Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hilton Downtown Columbus Ohio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wonderful staff throughout the hotel. Location is perfect, within walking distance of some of the best restaurants Columbus has to offer, but there is no need to leave the hotel to find some of the best food in Columbus. The Gallerie Bar & Bistro is second to none in Columbus when it comes evening dining. It is run by one of the top chefs in Columbus, whose restaurant, Sage, is definitely worth a visit. The food at the Hilton Gallerie Bar & Bistro is definitely not typical hotel food. Bread is baked in-house as are the croissants and the butter is house-made. The bar section is a great place to sit and relax and offers 50% off during happy hour which includes appetizers from the outstanding dinner menu. Dining here is definitely a cut above other Hiltons worldwide. I certainly hope they can maintain the quality. Breakfasts are pretty much Hilton buffet quality (for the better Hiltons, like the Hilton Americas in Houston, which I consider quite good) with the exception of the house-made croissants and danish which excel.
Also within walking distance is the North Market, Jeni's ice cream and the shops in the Short North, none of which should be missed on a visit to Columbus.
The room we had (1234) had windows on three sides with great views, was comfortable, clean and had very modern decor. The bathroom was a very decent size with a large shower, no tub. Executive lounge was not open yet, but looked promising. We'll be back to check it out.
The pool is an indoor heated pool overlooking High Street. Great for the kids.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side have good views, but there is a train that goes by. Didn't bother me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice note and glad you enjoyed your stay. I particularly appreciate that you recognized that we are striving for Gallerie Bar & Bistro to be a progressive part of the great dining scene here in Columbus. Due to some construction challenges, the Executive Lounge has been delayed but should be opening in the next month or so. In the meantime, we have extended full breakfast privileges to our Gold and Diamond Hilton HHonors members in the Gallerie. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    161
    48
    11
    8
See reviews for
132
149
26
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the brand-new, beautiful Hilton Columbus downtown for a "staycation" getaway. I am a frequent traveler and love experiencing new properties, but this one gets a mixed review. On the hotel side, everyone from bellmen to front desk to housekeeping were first-class in their customer service. But on the food and beverage side, they have a way to go!! The restaurant offers a unique, high-end menu of delicious choices. Be aware: this is big food and pretty pricey. However, the bar menu has several smaller and smaller-priced offerings for a quick or casual meal... but you need to be in the bar to order from it. No problems with the quality of the food and beer/wine - but their service is bad. Not just spotty. Bad - slow, the wait staff disappears for long stretches, there even seemed to be confusion about who had what tables!! We had two breakfasts and two dinners there during our stay and the service was consistently poor. That's too bad, because the hotel doesn't deserve this!!

Room Tip: I received an email from Hilton the day before our stay, offering special rates on upgrades ranging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but deeply regret that the service in the restaurant did not meet your expectations. Certainly not the experience we are striving for. Please be aware that all menus are available in either the lounge or the restaurant at all times as we recognize that diners are looking for different things at various times. I have come to expect exceptional service from the restaurant staff and sincerely apologize that this was not the case during your stay. I would be happy to further address this matter and make appropriate amends off line and will reach out to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I celebrated a special weekend in Columbus and stayed at the Hilton. From the moment we were greeted by the valet, to the expeditious check in with patient and friendly front desk staff, to the beautiful & pristine property, we knew the Hilton was the "it" hotel for an exceptional service experience.
We enjoyed great appetizers & dinner at the bar on the 2nd floor! And, the bartenders were fun and knowledgeable about the delicious and unique cuisine.

You can't beat the location, you won't find a more enjoyable staff of employees, or a more interesting and comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your note. Your kind and gracious comments are sincerely appreciated. Hope we welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the Valet to the front desk to the bartender and all the way to the bellman - this was an amazing hotel and stay. I travel a ton for business and NEVER take the time to complain or praise - it is so rare that I am moved into action....however Robin at the front desk was so helpful and very personable....she was great!!! I deal with front desk folks all the time, but Robin was heads and shoulders above the others!!

Room Tip: Not sure if they had a spa but if travelling on business the king bed rooms are perfect...amazing vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on this occasion. Your kind and gracious comments regarding the hotel and service are sincerely appreciated. I am most fortunate to work with such a service-oriented professional as Robin and have taken the liberty of sharing your compliments with her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba Island, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We often stay at Hiltons and Hampton Inns, so I feel very experienced in what the Hilton Family of hotels brings to the accomodations market. This Hilton is brand new, we've stayed at it three times since it's opening. Each time we've been dissatisfied with our stay. The rooms and entire hotel is beautiful, modern, and sleek. The front desk staff is accomodating and helpful, bout half the time. The bar staff are mediocre.
But, where this Hilton falls apart is in housekeeping professionalism and the lack of amenities for Hilton Honors Club members. No concierge level, none of the typical perks for being a Hilton Honors Club member like breakfast. Perhaps this works for some, but when you stay in Hilton hotels up to 70 or 80 nights a year, they should at least be consistent with the brand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Your feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can rectify the challenges you have been experiencing. I am sorry you have not completely enjoyed your stays. I apologize that the Executive Lounge is not yet open due to on-going construction challenges; the space just isn’t completed yet but do hope it will be open by Spring. However, in the interim, Gold and Diamond members have been provided complimentary full breakfast buffet in the restaurant and upgrades in keeping with their “My Way” selection. Other than the lounge itself, we have been fulfilling the benefits of the Hilton HHonors program and apologize if this has not been the case during your stays in anyway. I hope we can speak directly to address the matter to ensure the problem is rectified in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Being Hilton diamond members, we have stayed at literally hundreds of Hilton properties across the U.S., and we can honestly say this was by far one of finest hotels we have had the pleasure of patroning. The staff was simply delightful and all seemed to truly take pride in their jobs. How refreshing it was to be surrounded by not only a clean, beautiful property but also by people who took the time to ensure that our stay was the best it could possibly be. The rooms were artfully decorated and we truly enjoyed all of the interesting books that were made available to us in our own private library. The hotel restaurant, The Gallerie Bar & Bistro was beyond expectation, the menu was fresh and had a variety of items to suit each member of our family including our 11 year old who dined on oysters, escargot, mussels and rabbit. The desserts were just as delicious. The manager was very engaging and made sure our dining experience was one we would soon not forget. Compliments to the chef and our wonderful server who made sure we had everything we needed. We will definitely revisit this fine hotel and restaurant- and thank you once again to all for creating such a wonderful experience because without the outstanding service it would be just another hotel. The Mijalkovic Family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We were honored to host the family and it would appear you have a budding foodie in the group! Your kind and gracious comments regarding the hotel, Gallerie and service are sincerely appreciated. I am most fortunate to work with such a group so passionate about what they do; they inspire me every day! I have taken the liberty of sharing your complements with the entire team and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Sarah volloschuck hooked me up with a conference rate even when I forgot to book in advance. So classy the pool is salt water. Room service is reasonably priced. it is in prime nightlife area, and is super clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the nice note and glad Sarah was able to accommodate you. One clarification, our pool is actually fresh water which uses a saltwater chlorinating system resulting in the water having a slight salinity to it. Through an electrolysis processing of the salt added into the water, chlorine is mixed back into the pool to maintain safe sanitation levels without the aggravating effects, irritation, taste and orders of a more traditional chlorine system. Though there is a slight salty taste to the water, it is 1/12 of the salinity of the ocean and is much closer to a typical fresh water pool. Such a system also contributes to our LEED Certification as it is a natural process and reduces the use of manufactured chlorine and other chemicals typically used to maintain sanitation and pH levels. Thought you might find that interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Address: 401 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.